This code is for a trunk defect; 15733 is the related flap code for a head or neck recipient region.
On this page
CMS RVU26D · Effective 2026-10-01
15734 Trunk flap Medicare reimbursement rates in Hawaii
Reports transfer of a muscle-based, skin-and-muscle, or fascia-and-skin flap to cover or reconstruct a defect of the trunk. Compare 15734 office and facility rates across CMS payment localities in Hawaii.
Amounts below use the non-QP conversion factor for participating physicians. These are base physician payments before claim-level adjustments, not patient costs or total hospital charges.
What does Medicare pay for 15734 in Hawaii?
Hawaii has 1 payment locality in this comparison. Use the service location to choose the applicable amount. These are the supported base rates for the payment area shown below, using the same CMS release.
Office / nonfacility
No supported rate
Facility setting
$1381.34
1 of 1 localities have a supported rate.
Payment area: Hawaii, Guam
One mapped payment locality.
These are locality ranges, not averages or address-specific quotes. A facility-setting amount covers the physician service; it does not include a hospital’s separate bill. Choose a locality below to inspect its calculation, compare other payment areas, or price a percentage of Medicare.
Reconstructive surgery
About 15734: Trunk muscle or skin flap reconstruction
Reports transfer of a muscle-based, skin-and-muscle, or fascia-and-skin flap to cover or reconstruct a defect of the trunk.
This code describes moving a muscle-based, skin-and-muscle, or fascia-and-skin flap to cover or reconstruct a trunk defect. Plastic, general, and reconstructive surgeons may use it after tumor removal or trauma, or when durable tissue coverage is needed for an abdominal or chest-wall defect. Pedicled rectus-based reconstruction and trunk pressure-wound coverage are representative settings. A flap carries its blood supply during transfer, unlike a free skin graft.
Select the code based on the flap tissue and the recipient region, rather than defect size alone. The operative report should identify the flap components, donor and recipient sites, and transfer method, including whether the flap remains pedicled or is transferred as free tissue. Medicare assigns a 90-day global period, including the day-before preoperative visit and 90 days of related postoperative care. When multiple procedures are performed in one session, the highest-valued procedure is paid in full and the others are subject to the standard 50% reduction. Modifier 50 is inappropriate. Assistant-at-surgery payment may be made; co-surgeon payment requires supporting documentation, and team surgery is not permitted.
CMS billing rules for 15734
- Global period
- Major surgery with a 90-day global period: the day-before preoperative visit and 90 days of related postoperative care are included.
- Multiple procedures
- Standard multiple procedure reduction: the highest-valued procedure is paid in full and others at 50% when performed in the same session.
- Bilateral procedures
- Bilateral adjustment does not apply; the descriptor or anatomy makes modifier 50 inappropriate.
- Assistant at surgery
- Assistant at surgery may be paid.
- Co-surgeons
- Co-surgeons paid only with supporting documentation.
- Team surgery
- Team surgery not permitted.
Where the value comes from
- Work RVU22.43 · 54%
- Practice expense (office) RVU14.11 · 34%
- Malpractice RVU4.98 · 12%
29.5K
Medicare services in 2024 · #979 by national volume
This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.
15734 compared with similar codes
Office rates for Hawaii, from the same CMS release.
Choose this code for a trunk recipient region. Code 15736 applies when the flap covers an arm defect.
Choose this code for a trunk recipient region. Code 15738 applies when the flap covers a leg defect.
Use 15756 for a free muscle or skin flap transferred with microvascular technique; this code describes a trunk flap that is not reported as that free-flap service.
Compare 15734 by payment locality
Find the payment area for your service address, then open its rate page for calculation inputs, release history and the percentage-of-Medicare tool. A city may cross payment-area boundaries; the ZIP lookup above helps resolve the location.
1 of 1 payment localities
Hawaii, Guam →
Office / nonfacility
Unavailable
Facility
$1381.34
Need rates for a whole code list?
Fee-sheet and API access are in early access. Tell us which codes and locations your team needs.
How this local rate is calculated
Each RVU component is multiplied by its own geographic practice cost index (GPCI). The three adjusted components are added, then multiplied by the conversion factor. These are the inputs used for 15734 in Hawaii, Guam.
PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv
1,532
- Code
- 15734
- Physician work
- 22.43
- Practice expense
- 14.11
- Malpractice
- 4.98
GPCI2026.csv
46
- Locality
- Hawaii, Guam
- Physician work
- 1.000
- Practice expense
- 1.137
- Malpractice
- 0.579
| Component | RVU | Locality factor | Adjusted |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physician work | 22.43 | × 1.000 | 22.4300 |
| Practice expense | 14.11 | × 1.137 | 16.0431 |
| Malpractice | 4.98 | × 0.579 | 2.8834 |
| Total RVUs | 41.3565 | ||
| Conversion factor | × 33.4009 | ||
Facility rate, Hawaii, Guam$1381.34
Explore RVUs, geographic factors and the full formula
Facility
| Component | RVU | Local GPCI |
|---|---|---|
| Work | 22.43 | 1 |
| Practice expense | 14.11 | 1.137 |
| Malpractice | 4.98 | 0.579 |
(22.43 × 1 + 14.11 × 1.137 + 4.98 × 0.579) × $33.4009 = $1381.34
The office and facility calculations use their respective practice-expense RVUs. The facility amount here is the physician fee, not a separate hospital or facility bill.
15734 billing questions
How is this code distinguished from the arm and leg flap codes?
Use this code when the flap covers a trunk defect. The related arm and leg codes are selected for defects in those respective regions.
When would a free-flap code be considered instead?
A free-flap code is considered when tissue is completely separated from its donor site and transferred with microvascular reconnection. This code represents a trunk flap that is not reported as a free microvascular flap.
Should modifier 50 be used for bilateral trunk work?
No. CMS identifies bilateral adjustment as inappropriate for this code.
What documentation supports reporting this code?
The operative report should describe the flap tissue, donor and recipient locations, and how the flap was transferred to cover the trunk defect.
How are multiple procedures in the same session paid?
CMS pays the highest-valued procedure in full and applies the standard multiple-procedure reduction to the others. The code also has a 90-day global period.
Where these rates come from
FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense, and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indices and the applicable conversion factor. Unavailable or separately priced services are labeled rather than assigned a made-up amount.
Source: RVU26D. Effective 2026-10-01 through the day before 2027-01-01.
