63075 reports the primary cervical interspace procedure. Use 63076 only for additional cervical interspaces treated in the same operative service.
On this page
CMS RVU26D · Effective 2026-10-01
63076 Cervical decompression Medicare reimbursement rates in Indiana
Reports anterior cervical disc removal and spinal cord or nerve-root decompression at each additional interspace beyond the primary cervical level. Compare 63076 office and facility rates across CMS payment localities in Indiana.
Amounts below use the non-QP conversion factor for participating physicians. These are base physician payments before claim-level adjustments, not patient costs or total hospital charges.
What does Medicare pay for 63076 in Indiana?
Indiana has 1 payment locality in this comparison. Use the service location to choose the applicable amount. These are the supported base rates for the payment area shown below, using the same CMS release.
Office / nonfacility
No supported rate
Facility setting
$192.30
1 of 1 localities have a supported rate.
Payment area: Indiana
One mapped payment locality.
These are locality ranges, not averages or address-specific quotes. A facility-setting amount covers the physician service; it does not include a hospital’s separate bill. Choose a locality below to inspect its calculation, compare other payment areas, or price a percentage of Medicare.
Spine surgery
About 63076: Additional cervical disc-space decompression
Reports anterior cervical disc removal and spinal cord or nerve-root decompression at each additional interspace beyond the primary cervical level.
This add-on describes anterior removal of disc material and decompression of the spinal cord or nerve roots at an additional cervical interspace. A neurosurgeon or orthopedic spine surgeon may perform it for multilevel cervical disc disease, such as when compression affects more than one disc space. The service may be performed in a hospital or another surgical facility, with or without a separately coded fusion procedure.
Report 63076 for each additional cervical interspace treated after the primary level, and pair it with 63075. The operative report should identify the cervical levels treated and describe the disc removal and neural decompression at each level. If an anterior cervical fusion code includes the discectomy and decompression at a level, those services are not separately reported again for that same level. CMS classifies 63076 as an add-on: it is billed only with a primary procedure and paid within that procedure’s global period.
CMS billing rules for 63076
- Global period
- Add-on code: billed only together with a primary procedure and paid within that procedure's global period.
Where the value comes from
- Work RVU3.94 · 61%
- Practice expense (office) RVU1.30 · 20%
- Malpractice RVU1.26 · 19%
124
Medicare services in 2024 · #4709 by national volume
This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.
63076 compared with similar codes
Office rates for Indiana, from the same CMS release.
63077 describes the primary anterior disc decompression at a thoracic interspace; 63076 is for an additional cervical interspace.
63078 is the additional-interspace code for thoracic disc decompression. Use 63076 for additional cervical levels.
22552 reports an additional level of cervical interbody fusion. Disc removal and decompression included in fusion work at that level are not separately reported again as 63076.
Compare 63076 by payment locality
Find the payment area for your service address, then open its rate page for calculation inputs, release history and the percentage-of-Medicare tool. A city may cross payment-area boundaries; the ZIP lookup above helps resolve the location.
1 of 1 payment localities
Indiana →
Office / nonfacility
Unavailable
Facility
$192.30
Need rates for a whole code list?
Fee-sheet and API access are in early access. Tell us which codes and locations your team needs.
How this local rate is calculated
Each RVU component is multiplied by its own geographic practice cost index (GPCI). The three adjusted components are added, then multiplied by the conversion factor. These are the inputs used for 63076 in Indiana.
PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv
7,018
- Code
- 63076
- Physician work
- 3.94
- Practice expense
- 1.30
- Malpractice
- 1.26
GPCI2026.csv
52
- Locality
- Indiana
- Physician work
- 1.000
- Practice expense
- 0.927
- Malpractice
- 0.486
| Component | RVU | Locality factor | Adjusted |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physician work | 3.94 | × 1.000 | 3.9400 |
| Practice expense | 1.30 | × 0.927 | 1.2051 |
| Malpractice | 1.26 | × 0.486 | 0.6124 |
| Total RVUs | 5.7575 | ||
| Conversion factor | × 33.4009 | ||
Facility rate, Indiana$192.30
Explore RVUs, geographic factors and the full formula
Facility
| Component | RVU | Local GPCI |
|---|---|---|
| Work | 3.94 | 1 |
| Practice expense | 1.3 | 0.927 |
| Malpractice | 1.26 | 0.486 |
(3.94 × 1 + 1.3 × 0.927 + 1.26 × 0.486) × $33.4009 = $192.30
The office and facility calculations use their respective practice-expense RVUs. The facility amount here is the physician fee, not a separate hospital or facility bill.
63076 billing questions
Can 63076 be reported by itself?
No. It is an add-on for additional cervical interspaces and must be reported with the primary procedure, 63075.
How many units should be reported?
Report one unit for each additional cervical interspace treated beyond the primary interspace. The operative report should support the levels and work performed.
Can 63076 be reported with cervical fusion?
Do not separately report disc removal and decompression at a level when the cervical fusion service includes that work at the same level.
What documentation supports the additional level?
The operative report should identify each cervical interspace and describe the anterior disc removal and decompression performed there.
How does CMS treat the global period?
CMS treats 63076 as an add-on billed only with a primary procedure, with payment within that primary procedure’s global period.
Where these rates come from
FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense, and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indices and the applicable conversion factor. Unavailable or separately priced services are labeled rather than assigned a made-up amount.
Source: RVU26D. Effective 2026-10-01 through the day before 2027-01-01.
