On this page

CMS RVU26D · Effective 2026-10-01

15734 Trunk flap Medicare reimbursement rates in Kansas

Reports transfer of a muscle-based, skin-and-muscle, or fascia-and-skin flap to cover or reconstruct a defect of the trunk. Compare 15734 office and facility rates across CMS payment localities in Kansas.

Amounts below use the non-QP conversion factor for participating physicians. These are base physician payments before claim-level adjustments, not patient costs or total hospital charges.

What does Medicare pay for 15734 in Kansas?

Kansas has 1 payment locality in this comparison. Use the service location to choose the applicable amount. These are the supported base rates for the payment area shown below, using the same CMS release.

Office / nonfacility

No supported rate

Facility setting

$1259.06

1 of 1 localities have a supported rate.

Payment area: Kansas

One mapped payment locality.

These are locality ranges, not averages or address-specific quotes. A facility-setting amount covers the physician service; it does not include a hospital’s separate bill. Choose a locality below to inspect its calculation, compare other payment areas, or price a percentage of Medicare.

Find 15734 in your payment locality →

Reconstructive surgery

About 15734: Trunk muscle or skin flap reconstruction

Reports transfer of a muscle-based, skin-and-muscle, or fascia-and-skin flap to cover or reconstruct a defect of the trunk.

This code describes moving a muscle-based, skin-and-muscle, or fascia-and-skin flap to cover or reconstruct a trunk defect. Plastic, general, and reconstructive surgeons may use it after tumor removal or trauma, or when durable tissue coverage is needed for an abdominal or chest-wall defect. Pedicled rectus-based reconstruction and trunk pressure-wound coverage are representative settings. A flap carries its blood supply during transfer, unlike a free skin graft.

Select the code based on the flap tissue and the recipient region, rather than defect size alone. The operative report should identify the flap components, donor and recipient sites, and transfer method, including whether the flap remains pedicled or is transferred as free tissue. Medicare assigns a 90-day global period, including the day-before preoperative visit and 90 days of related postoperative care. When multiple procedures are performed in one session, the highest-valued procedure is paid in full and the others are subject to the standard 50% reduction. Modifier 50 is inappropriate. Assistant-at-surgery payment may be made; co-surgeon payment requires supporting documentation, and team surgery is not permitted.

CMS billing rules for 15734

Global period
Major surgery with a 90-day global period: the day-before preoperative visit and 90 days of related postoperative care are included.
Multiple procedures
Standard multiple procedure reduction: the highest-valued procedure is paid in full and others at 50% when performed in the same session.
Bilateral procedures
Bilateral adjustment does not apply; the descriptor or anatomy makes modifier 50 inappropriate.
Assistant at surgery
Assistant at surgery may be paid.
Co-surgeons
Co-surgeons paid only with supporting documentation.
Team surgery
Team surgery not permitted.

Where the value comes from

  • Work RVU22.43 · 54%
  • Practice expense (office) RVU14.11 · 34%
  • Malpractice RVU4.98 · 12%

29.5K

Medicare services in 2024 · #979 by national volume

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

15734 compared with similar codes

Office rates for Kansas, from the same CMS release.

15733

Pedicled flap

Head and neck, named pedicle

No office rate

This code is for a trunk defect; 15733 is the related flap code for a head or neck recipient region.

15736

Flap reconstruction

Upper extremity

No office rate

Choose this code for a trunk recipient region. Code 15736 applies when the flap covers an arm defect.

15738

Lower-extremity flap

Muscle, myocutaneous, or fasciocutaneous

No office rate

Choose this code for a trunk recipient region. Code 15738 applies when the flap covers a leg defect.

15756

Free tissue flap

Muscle or myocutaneous

No office rate

Use 15756 for a free muscle or skin flap transferred with microvascular technique; this code describes a trunk flap that is not reported as that free-flap service.

Compare 15734 by payment locality

Find the payment area for your service address, then open its rate page for calculation inputs, release history and the percentage-of-Medicare tool. A city may cross payment-area boundaries; the ZIP lookup above helps resolve the location.

1 of 1 payment localities

Office and facility base rates · shared scale starting at $0
  • Kansas →

    Office / nonfacility

    Unavailable

    Facility

    $1259.06

Need rates for a whole code list?

Fee-sheet and API access are in early access. Tell us which codes and locations your team needs.

Explore fee-sheet early access →

How this local rate is calculated

Each RVU component is multiplied by its own geographic practice cost index (GPCI). The three adjusted components are added, then multiplied by the conversion factor. These are the inputs used for 15734 in Kansas.

PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv

1,532

Code
15734
Physician work
22.43
Practice expense
14.11
Malpractice
4.98

GPCI2026.csv

54

Locality
Kansas
Physician work
1.000
Practice expense
0.904
Malpractice
0.504
Facility calculation for 15734 in Kansas
ComponentRVULocality factorAdjusted
Physician work22.43× 1.00022.4300
Practice expense14.11× 0.90412.7554
Malpractice4.98× 0.5042.5099
Total RVUs37.6954
Conversion factor× 33.4009

Facility rate, Kansas$1259.06

Values as parsed from CMS release RVU26D, effective 2026-10-01. The amount is rounded to the nearest cent only at the end.
Explore RVUs, geographic factors and the full formula

Facility

Facility calculation inputs
ComponentRVULocal GPCI
Work22.431
Practice expense14.110.904
Malpractice4.980.504

(22.43 × 1 + 14.11 × 0.904 + 4.98 × 0.504) × $33.4009 = $1259.06

The office and facility calculations use their respective practice-expense RVUs. The facility amount here is the physician fee, not a separate hospital or facility bill.

15734 billing questions

How is this code distinguished from the arm and leg flap codes?

Use this code when the flap covers a trunk defect. The related arm and leg codes are selected for defects in those respective regions.

When would a free-flap code be considered instead?

A free-flap code is considered when tissue is completely separated from its donor site and transferred with microvascular reconnection. This code represents a trunk flap that is not reported as a free microvascular flap.

Should modifier 50 be used for bilateral trunk work?

No. CMS identifies bilateral adjustment as inappropriate for this code.

What documentation supports reporting this code?

The operative report should describe the flap tissue, donor and recipient locations, and how the flap was transferred to cover the trunk defect.

How are multiple procedures in the same session paid?

CMS pays the highest-valued procedure in full and applies the standard multiple-procedure reduction to the others. The code also has a 90-day global period.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense, and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indices and the applicable conversion factor. Unavailable or separately priced services are labeled rather than assigned a made-up amount.

Source: RVU26D. Effective 2026-10-01 through the day before 2027-01-01.

RVUs for 15734PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 1,532 (RVU26D)
Geographic factors for KansasGPCI2026.csv, line 54 (RVU26D)