On this page

CMS RVU26D · Effective 2026-10-01

43239 EGD with biopsy Medicare reimbursement rates in Kansas

Report one EGD with biopsy when tissue is sampled from the esophagus, stomach, or duodenum, regardless of the number of biopsy sites. Compare 43239 office and facility rates across CMS payment localities in Kansas.

Amounts below use the non-QP conversion factor for participating physicians. These are base physician payments before claim-level adjustments, not patient costs or total hospital charges.

What does Medicare pay for 43239 in Kansas?

Kansas has 1 payment locality in this comparison. Use the service location to choose the applicable amount. These are the supported base rates for the payment area shown below, using the same CMS release.

Office / nonfacility

$382.50

1 of 1 localities have a supported rate.

Payment area: Kansas

One mapped payment locality.

Facility setting

$115.58

1 of 1 localities have a supported rate.

Payment area: Kansas

One mapped payment locality.

These are locality ranges, not averages or address-specific quotes. A facility-setting amount covers the physician service; it does not include a hospital’s separate bill. Choose a locality below to inspect its calculation, compare other payment areas, or price a percentage of Medicare.

Find 43239 in your payment locality →

Gastrointestinal endoscopy

About 43239: Upper GI endoscopy with biopsy, single or multiple

Report one EGD with biopsy when tissue is sampled from the esophagus, stomach, or duodenum, regardless of the number of biopsy sites.

The endoscopist passes a flexible scope through the mouth to examine the upper digestive tract and takes tissue samples with biopsy forceps. Common reasons include gastric sampling for Helicobacter pylori, duodenal sampling for suspected celiac disease, esophageal sampling for eosinophilic esophagitis, and Barrett's esophagus surveillance. Gastroenterologists and some surgeons perform the procedure, primarily in hospital outpatient departments and ambulatory surgery centers, but also in offices.

Report one unit for the EGD session regardless of the number of biopsies or sites sampled. The procedure note should identify the sampled sites and endoscopic findings; a pathologist's tissue examination is billed separately. CMS assigns a 0-day global period, which includes same-day preprocedure and postprocedure care. When another procedure in the same endoscopy family is separately reportable, endoscopy family pricing pays the highest-valued procedure in full and reduces the other procedure's payment by the diagnostic base endoscopy value. Modifier 50 is inappropriate for this procedure. An assistant surgeon is not paid, and co-surgeon or team-surgery billing is not permitted.

CMS billing rules for 43239

Global period
Minor procedure with a 0-day global period: same-day preoperative and postoperative care is included.
Multiple procedures
Endoscopy family pricing applies when related endoscopies are performed together.
Bilateral procedures
Bilateral adjustment does not apply; the descriptor or anatomy makes modifier 50 inappropriate.
Assistant at surgery
Statutory restriction: assistant at surgery is not paid.
Co-surgeons
Co-surgeons not permitted.
Team surgery
Team surgery not permitted.

Where the value comes from

  • Work RVU2.33 · 19%
  • Practice expense (office) RVU9.94 · 79%
  • Malpractice RVU0.27 · 2%

1.6M

Medicare services in 2024 · #96 by national volume

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

43239 compared with similar codes

Office rates for Kansas, from the same CMS release.

43235

Upper GI endoscopy

Diagnostic, brushings or washings

$295.01

Use 43235 for diagnostic EGD, with or without brushings or washings. Report 43239 instead when a forceps biopsy is taken.

43251

EGD lesion removal

Snare technique

$499.00

43251 describes snare removal of a lesion. Use 43239 for forceps tissue sampling or cold-forceps removal of a small lesion.

43202

Esophageal biopsy

Flexible transoral scope

$357.97

43202 describes biopsy during an examination limited to the esophagus. Use 43239 when the upper GI examination extends into the stomach and a biopsy is taken.

43238

EUS-guided biopsy

Limited upper GI examination

No office rate

43238 uses endoscopic ultrasound to guide needle sampling through the esophageal wall. Use 43239 for mucosal forceps biopsy during EGD.

Compare 43239 by payment locality

Find the payment area for your service address, then open its rate page for calculation inputs, release history and the percentage-of-Medicare tool. A city may cross payment-area boundaries; the ZIP lookup above helps resolve the location.

1 of 1 payment localities

Office and facility base rates · shared scale starting at $0
  • Kansas →

    Office / nonfacility

    $382.50

    Facility

    $115.58

Need rates for a whole code list?

Fee-sheet and API access are in early access. Tell us which codes and locations your team needs.

Explore fee-sheet early access →

How this local rate is calculated

Each RVU component is multiplied by its own geographic practice cost index (GPCI). The three adjusted components are added, then multiplied by the conversion factor. These are the inputs used for 43239 in Kansas.

PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv

5,167

Code
43239
Physician work
2.33
Practice expense
9.94
Malpractice
0.27

GPCI2026.csv

54

Locality
Kansas
Physician work
1.000
Practice expense
0.904
Malpractice
0.504
Office / nonfacility calculation for 43239 in Kansas
ComponentRVULocality factorAdjusted
Physician work2.33× 1.0002.3300
Practice expense9.94× 0.9048.9858
Malpractice0.27× 0.5040.1361
Total RVUs11.4518
Conversion factor× 33.4009

Office / nonfacility rate, Kansas$382.50

Explore RVUs, geographic factors and the full formula

Office / nonfacility

Office / nonfacility calculation inputs
ComponentRVULocal GPCI
Work2.331
Practice expense9.940.904
Malpractice0.270.504

(2.33 × 1 + 9.94 × 0.904 + 0.27 × 0.504) × $33.4009 = $382.50

Facility

Facility calculation inputs
ComponentRVULocal GPCI
Work2.331
Practice expense1.10.904
Malpractice0.270.504

(2.33 × 1 + 1.1 × 0.904 + 0.27 × 0.504) × $33.4009 = $115.58

The office and facility calculations use their respective practice-expense RVUs. The facility amount here is the physician fee, not a separate hospital or facility bill.

43239 billing questions

How many units are reported when biopsies are taken from the esophagus, stomach, and duodenum?

One unit. The code covers single or multiple biopsies from any number of sites during the same EGD session.

Can the diagnostic EGD be billed along with the biopsy code?

No. Diagnostic EGD is included in the biopsy procedure and is not reported separately for the same examination.

Can a biopsy be billed with snare polypectomy during the same EGD?

Yes, if the biopsy samples a different lesion and both procedures are documented. Use a distinct-procedure modifier such as 59 or XS when needed; a biopsy of the lesion subsequently removed by snare is not separately reported.

How is payment calculated when a biopsy and a dilation are both done at the same EGD?

If both are separately reportable procedures in the same endoscopy family, the higher-valued procedure is paid in full. Payment for the other is reduced by the value of the diagnostic base endoscopy.

Is the pathology examination of the biopsy included?

No. The pathologist bills the tissue examination, typically with a surgical pathology code such as 88305, separately from the endoscopy.

Does the 0-day global period bundle a preprocedure office visit on an earlier date?

No. The 0-day global period includes same-day preprocedure and postprocedure care, not a visit on an earlier date.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense, and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indices and the applicable conversion factor. Unavailable or separately priced services are labeled rather than assigned a made-up amount.

Source: RVU26D. Effective 2026-10-01 through the day before 2027-01-01.

RVUs for 43239PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 5,167 (RVU26D)
Geographic factors for KansasGPCI2026.csv, line 54 (RVU26D)