On this page

CMS RVU26D · Effective 2026-10-01

A2039 Wound matrix Medicare reimbursement rates in Maine

Reports each square centimeter of InnovaMatrix FD furnished for wound treatment, alongside the primary procedure for applying the matrix. Compare A2039 office and facility rates across CMS payment localities in Maine.

Amounts below use the non-QP conversion factor for participating physicians. These are base physician payments before claim-level adjustments, not patient costs or total hospital charges.

What does Medicare pay for A2039 in Maine?

Maine has 2 payment localities in this comparison. Use the service location to choose the applicable amount. These are the supported base rates for the 2 payment areas shown below, using the same CMS release.

Office / nonfacility

$117.08–$126.11

2 of 2 localities have a supported rate.

Lowest: Rest Of Maine

Highest: Southern Maine

A spread of $9.03 per service.

Facility setting

No supported rate

These are locality ranges, not averages or address-specific quotes. A facility-setting amount covers the physician service; it does not include a hospital’s separate bill. Choose a locality below to inspect its calculation, compare other payment areas, or price a percentage of Medicare.

Find A2039 in your payment locality →

Wound care

About A2039: InnovaMatrix FD wound matrix supply

Reports each square centimeter of InnovaMatrix FD furnished for wound treatment, alongside the primary procedure for applying the matrix.

A2039 represents InnovaMatrix FD, a fish-derived wound matrix supplied for application to an open wound. Wound-care clinicians, podiatrists, and surgeons may use it when treating wounds such as chronic lower-extremity ulcers. The code measures the product by surface area, not by the number of wounds or application sessions. It identifies the specific product; another wound matrix or dressing is not reported under this code merely because it covers a similar area.

Report A2039 only with a primary procedure and within that procedure’s global period. Document the wound site, treated area, product used, and the quantity in square centimeters to support the units billed. CMS classifies A2039 as technical-component-only; a separate code accounts for interpretation. The record should also identify the primary procedure performed with the product. The CMS add-on designation means A2039 is not reported by itself.

CMS billing rules for A2039

Global period
Add-on code: billed only together with a primary procedure and paid within that procedure's global period.
Professional and technical components
Technical-component-only code: a separate code covers interpretation.

Where the value comes from

  • Work RVU0.00 · 0%
  • Practice expense (office) RVU3.81 · 100%
  • Malpractice RVU0.00 · 0%

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

A2039 compared with similar codes

Office rates for Maine, from the same CMS release.

A2038

Wound matrix

Marigen Pacto, per sq cm

$117.08–$126.11

A2038 identifies Marigen Pacto; A2039 identifies InnovaMatrix FD. Select the code for the product actually furnished.

A2043

Biobrane

Per square centimeter

$117.08–$126.11

A2043 identifies Biobrane, not InnovaMatrix FD. Both use a square-centimeter unit, but the product determines the code.

A2027

Matriderm

Per square centimeter

$117.08–$126.11

A2027 is for Matriderm. Do not choose between it and A2039 by wound area alone; report the product used.

Compare A2039 by payment locality

Find the payment area for your service address, then open its rate page for calculation inputs, release history and the percentage-of-Medicare tool. A city may cross payment-area boundaries; the ZIP lookup above helps resolve the location.

2 of 2 payment localities

Office and facility base rates · shared scale starting at $0

Need rates for a whole code list?

Fee-sheet and API access are in early access. Tell us which codes and locations your team needs.

Explore fee-sheet early access →

A2039 billing questions

Can A2039 be billed by itself?

No. CMS identifies it as an add-on code that must be billed with a primary procedure, and payment falls within that procedure’s global period.

How many units should be reported?

The unit is one square centimeter. Support the billed quantity with documentation of the wound area and the amount of InnovaMatrix FD used.

Can another wound matrix be billed as A2039?

No. A2039 is specific to InnovaMatrix FD. Use the code assigned to the actual product supplied, even when another product is measured by square centimeter.

Does A2039 include an interpretation?

No professional component is represented by A2039. CMS classifies it as technical-component-only and indicates that interpretation is covered by a separate code.

What should the wound documentation include?

Record the wound site and treated area, the InnovaMatrix FD product used, the square-centimeter quantity, and the primary procedure performed with it.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense, and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indices and the applicable conversion factor. Unavailable or separately priced services are labeled rather than assigned a made-up amount.

Source: RVU26D. Effective 2026-10-01 through the day before 2027-01-01.

RVUs for A2039PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 13,260 (RVU26D)