64483 reports the first lumbar or sacral transforaminal epidural level; 64484 reports each additional level and is not reported alone.
On this page
CMS RVU26D · Effective 2026-10-01
64484 Epidural injection Medicare reimbursement rates in Maryland
Reports an image-guided transforaminal epidural injection at each additional lumbar or sacral level treated during the same procedure. Compare 64484 office and facility rates across CMS payment localities in Maryland.
Amounts below use the non-QP conversion factor for participating physicians. These are base physician payments before claim-level adjustments, not patient costs or total hospital charges.
What does Medicare pay for 64484 in Maryland?
Maryland has 3 payment localities in this comparison. Use the service location to choose the applicable amount. These are the supported base rates for the 3 payment areas shown below, using the same CMS release.
Office / nonfacility
$118.67–$134.27
3 of 3 localities have a supported rate.
Facility setting
$43.96–$47.31
3 of 3 localities have a supported rate.
These are locality ranges, not averages or address-specific quotes. A facility-setting amount covers the physician service; it does not include a hospital’s separate bill. Choose a locality below to inspect its calculation, compare other payment areas, or price a percentage of Medicare.
Where 64484 pays more and less in Maryland
3 payment localities
$118.67 to $134.27
Pain management
About 64484: Additional lumbar transforaminal epidural injection
Reports an image-guided transforaminal epidural injection at each additional lumbar or sacral level treated during the same procedure.
This add-on reports an injection into the epidural space through a lumbar or sacral neural foramen at an additional spinal level. The clinician typically uses imaging guidance to position the needle near the affected nerve root and deliver medication for radicular pain, such as pain associated with disc disease or spinal stenosis. Pain specialists, anesthesiologists, and other clinicians who perform image-guided spine procedures commonly provide this service in an office or facility setting.
Report 64484 for each additional lumbar or sacral level treated after the first level, with 64483 for the initial level. The procedure note should identify the levels treated and support the additional injection. Imaging guidance is included in the injection service and is not separately reported for the same procedure. CMS treats this as an add-on code: it must be billed with its primary procedure and is paid within that procedure’s global period. When performed bilaterally and reported with modifier 50, CMS pays the bilateral procedure at 150%.
CMS billing rules for 64484
- Global period
- Add-on code: billed only together with a primary procedure and paid within that procedure's global period.
- Bilateral procedures
- Bilateral procedure with modifier 50 is paid at 150%.
Where the value comes from
- Work RVU0.98 · 28%
- Practice expense (office) RVU2.46 · 70%
- Malpractice RVU0.08 · 2%
276.7K
Medicare services in 2024 · #329 by national volume
This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.
64484 compared with similar codes
Office rates for Maryland, from the same CMS release.
64480 is the additional-level code for cervical or thoracic transforaminal epidural injections. Use 64484 for additional lumbar or sacral levels.
64493 describes an injection targeting a lumbar or sacral paravertebral facet joint, not medication delivered through a neural foramen into the epidural space.
Compare 64484 by payment locality
Find the payment area for your service address, then open its rate page for calculation inputs, release history and the percentage-of-Medicare tool. A city may cross payment-area boundaries; the ZIP lookup above helps resolve the location.
3 of 3 payment localities
Baltimore/Surr. Cntys →
Office / nonfacility
$124.73
Facility
$45.52
Dc + Md/Va Suburbs →
Office / nonfacility
$134.27
Facility
$47.31
Rest Of Maryland →
Office / nonfacility
$118.67
Facility
$43.96
Need rates for a whole code list?
Fee-sheet and API access are in early access. Tell us which codes and locations your team needs.
64484 billing questions
When should 64484 be reported instead of 64483?
Use 64483 for the first lumbar or sacral transforaminal epidural level. Report 64484 for each additional level treated in the same procedure.
Can 64484 be billed by itself?
No. It is an add-on code and must be reported with the primary procedure, 64483.
Can imaging guidance be billed separately?
Imaging guidance is included in this injection service. Do not separately report guidance for the same injection.
How many units of 64484 should be reported?
Report one unit for each additional lumbar or sacral level treated beyond the first. Document the specific levels injected.
How is a bilateral procedure paid?
When the procedure is bilateral and reported with modifier 50, CMS pays it at 150%.
Where these rates come from
FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense, and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indices and the applicable conversion factor. Unavailable or separately priced services are labeled rather than assigned a made-up amount.
Source: RVU26D. Effective 2026-10-01 through the day before 2027-01-01.
