On this page

CMS RVU26D · Effective 2026-10-01

29862 Hip arthroscopy Medicare reimbursement rates in Oklahoma

Report this code when a surgeon uses hip arthroscopy to remove damaged or unstable labral or articular cartilage tissue from the joint. Compare 29862 office and facility rates across CMS payment localities in Oklahoma.

Amounts below use the non-QP conversion factor for participating physicians. These are base physician payments before claim-level adjustments, not patient costs or total hospital charges.

What does Medicare pay for 29862 in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma has 1 payment locality in this comparison. Use the service location to choose the applicable amount. These are the supported base rates for the payment area shown below, using the same CMS release.

Office / nonfacility

No supported rate

Facility setting

$709.08

1 of 1 localities have a supported rate.

Payment area: Oklahoma

One mapped payment locality.

These are locality ranges, not averages or address-specific quotes. A facility-setting amount covers the physician service; it does not include a hospital’s separate bill. Choose a locality below to inspect its calculation, compare other payment areas, or price a percentage of Medicare.

Find 29862 in your payment locality →

Orthopedic surgery

About 29862: Hip arthroscopy with tissue debridement

Report this code when a surgeon uses hip arthroscopy to remove damaged or unstable labral or articular cartilage tissue from the joint.

An orthopedic surgeon performs this procedure through an arthroscope and small portals to inspect the hip joint and debride damaged or unstable tissue, such as a torn labral edge or frayed articular cartilage. It is a therapeutic procedure, commonly performed in a hospital outpatient department or ambulatory surgery center for a symptomatic intra-articular lesion. The operative report should identify the tissue treated and describe the debridement performed.

Select this service when debridement is the operative work, rather than removal of a loose body, synovectomy, or labral repair. A diagnostic inspection that is part of the same operative arthroscopy is not separately reported as a diagnostic procedure. CMS assigns a 90-day global period, including the day-before preoperative visit and 90 days of related postoperative care. When related endoscopies are performed together, endoscopy family pricing applies. For bilateral reporting, modifier 50 is paid at 150%. Assistant-at-surgery payment may be available; co-surgeon payment requires supporting documentation, and team surgery is not permitted.

CMS billing rules for 29862

Global period
Major surgery with a 90-day global period: the day-before preoperative visit and 90 days of related postoperative care are included.
Multiple procedures
Endoscopy family pricing applies when related endoscopies are performed together.
Bilateral procedures
Bilateral procedure with modifier 50 is paid at 150%.
Assistant at surgery
Assistant at surgery may be paid.
Co-surgeons
Co-surgeons paid only with supporting documentation.
Team surgery
Team surgery not permitted.

Where the value comes from

  • Work RVU10.89 · 48%
  • Practice expense (office) RVU9.69 · 43%
  • Malpractice RVU2.17 · 10%

766

Medicare services in 2024 · #3194 by national volume

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

29862 compared with similar codes

Office rates for Oklahoma, from the same CMS release.

29860

Hip arthroscopy

Diagnostic only

No office rate

This code is for therapeutic debridement. The diagnostic hip arthroscopy code describes inspection and evaluation rather than operative tissue treatment.

29861

Hip arthroscopy

Loose or foreign body removal

No office rate

Use 29861 when the hip arthroscopy removes a loose body or foreign body; use 29862 for debridement of damaged labral or articular cartilage tissue.

29863

Hip arthroscopy

With synovectomy

No office rate

This code represents hip arthroscopy with synovectomy. It is distinct from debridement of labral or articular cartilage tissue.

29916

Hip arthroscopy

Labral repair

No office rate

Use 29916 when the surgeon repairs the acetabular labrum arthroscopically. Debridement without labral repair is reported with 29862.

Compare 29862 by payment locality

Find the payment area for your service address, then open its rate page for calculation inputs, release history and the percentage-of-Medicare tool. A city may cross payment-area boundaries; the ZIP lookup above helps resolve the location.

1 of 1 payment localities

Office and facility base rates · shared scale starting at $0

Need rates for a whole code list?

Fee-sheet and API access are in early access. Tell us which codes and locations your team needs.

Explore fee-sheet early access →

How this local rate is calculated

Each RVU component is multiplied by its own geographic practice cost index (GPCI). The three adjusted components are added, then multiplied by the conversion factor. These are the inputs used for 29862 in Oklahoma.

PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv

3,348

Code
29862
Physician work
10.89
Practice expense
9.69
Malpractice
2.17

GPCI2026.csv

86

Locality
Oklahoma
Physician work
1.000
Practice expense
0.893
Malpractice
0.777
Facility calculation for 29862 in Oklahoma
ComponentRVULocality factorAdjusted
Physician work10.89× 1.00010.8900
Practice expense9.69× 0.8938.6532
Malpractice2.17× 0.7771.6861
Total RVUs21.2293
Conversion factor× 33.4009

Facility rate, Oklahoma$709.08

Explore RVUs, geographic factors and the full formula

Facility

Facility calculation inputs
ComponentRVULocal GPCI
Work10.891
Practice expense9.690.893
Malpractice2.170.777

(10.89 × 1 + 9.69 × 0.893 + 2.17 × 0.777) × $33.4009 = $709.08

The office and facility calculations use their respective practice-expense RVUs. The facility amount here is the physician fee, not a separate hospital or facility bill.

29862 billing questions

How is debridement different from hip arthroscopy for loose-body removal?

This code covers debridement of damaged labral or articular cartilage tissue. Report the loose-body removal code when the operative work is removal of a loose body or foreign body.

Can diagnostic hip arthroscopy be reported separately?

When diagnostic inspection is part of the same operative arthroscopy, it is not separately reported as a diagnostic procedure. The operative report should support the therapeutic debridement.

What documentation supports this code?

Document the hip joint findings, the tissue debrided, and the work performed. The record should distinguish debridement from loose-body removal, synovectomy, or labral repair.

What is the global period for this procedure?

CMS assigns a 90-day global period. The day-before preoperative visit and 90 days of related postoperative care are included.

How should bilateral hip procedures be reported?

CMS identifies this as a bilateral procedure; modifier 50 is paid at 150%.

Can an assistant or co-surgeon be reported?

Assistant-at-surgery payment may be made. Co-surgeon payment requires supporting documentation, and team surgery is not permitted.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense, and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indices and the applicable conversion factor. Unavailable or separately priced services are labeled rather than assigned a made-up amount.

Source: RVU26D. Effective 2026-10-01 through the day before 2027-01-01.

RVUs for 29862PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 3,348 (RVU26D)
Geographic factors for OklahomaGPCI2026.csv, line 86 (RVU26D)