On this page

CMS RVU26D · Effective 2026-10-01

59200 Cervical dilator Medicare reimbursement rates in Oregon

Reports placement of a cervical dilator, commonly for cervical preparation before uterine evacuation or another procedure requiring cervical access. Compare 59200 office and facility rates across CMS payment localities in Oregon.

Amounts below use the non-QP conversion factor for participating physicians. These are base physician payments before claim-level adjustments, not patient costs or total hospital charges.

What does Medicare pay for 59200 in Oregon?

Oregon has 2 payment localities in this comparison. Use the service location to choose the applicable amount. These are the supported base rates for the 2 payment areas shown below, using the same CMS release.

Office / nonfacility

$126.38–$136.60

2 of 2 localities have a supported rate.

Lowest: Rest Of Oregon

Highest: Portland

A spread of $10.22 per service.

Facility setting

$56.18–$58.30

2 of 2 localities have a supported rate.

Lowest: Rest Of Oregon

Highest: Portland

A spread of $2.12 per service.

These are locality ranges, not averages or address-specific quotes. A facility-setting amount covers the physician service; it does not include a hospital’s separate bill. Choose a locality below to inspect its calculation, compare other payment areas, or price a percentage of Medicare.

Find 59200 in your payment locality →

Obstetrics and gynecology

About 59200: Cervical dilator placement

Reports placement of a cervical dilator, commonly for cervical preparation before uterine evacuation or another procedure requiring cervical access.

An obstetrician-gynecologist or other qualified clinician places a cervical dilator, such as an osmotic dilator, through the cervix to encourage gradual opening. This is commonly part of cervical preparation before a uterine evacuation, including a dilation and evacuation. The service may occur in an office or facility, sometimes before the definitive procedure. The code represents placement, not the evacuation or other procedure that follows.

Report the service when documentation identifies the dilator placement and its clinical purpose. Because this is designated a separate procedure, placement integral to a more comprehensive procedure is not separately reported; a distinct service may be reported when supported. CMS assigns a 0-day global period, so same-day preoperative and postoperative care is included. When other procedures are performed in the same session, the highest-valued procedure is paid in full and other procedures are subject to the standard multiple-procedure reduction. Modifier 50 is inappropriate. CMS does not pay an assistant at surgery, co-surgeons, or team surgery for this service.

CMS billing rules for 59200

Global period
Minor procedure with a 0-day global period: same-day preoperative and postoperative care is included.
Multiple procedures
Standard multiple procedure reduction: the highest-valued procedure is paid in full and others at 50% when performed in the same session.
Bilateral procedures
Bilateral adjustment does not apply; the descriptor or anatomy makes modifier 50 inappropriate.
Assistant at surgery
Statutory restriction: assistant at surgery is not paid.
Co-surgeons
Co-surgeons not permitted.
Team surgery
Team surgery not permitted.

Where the value comes from

  • Work RVU1.17 · 30%
  • Practice expense (office) RVU2.37 · 61%
  • Malpractice RVU0.36 · 9%

172

Medicare services in 2024 · #4464 by national volume

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

59200 compared with similar codes

Office rates for Oregon, from the same CMS release.

57800

Cervical dilation

Cervical canal

$72.58–$78.28

Use 59200 for placement of a cervical dilator for preparation. Use 57800 when the clinician directly dilates the cervical canal with instruments.

59840

Induced abortion d&c

No office rate

Code 59840 represents the induced abortion procedure by dilation and curettage. Code 59200 represents cervical dilator placement, not the evacuation.

59841

Induced abortion dilat&evac

No office rate

Code 59841 represents the induced abortion procedure by dilation and evacuation. Code 59200 represents cervical preparation through dilator placement and is not a substitute for the evacuation code.

Compare 59200 by payment locality

Find the payment area for your service address, then open its rate page for calculation inputs, release history and the percentage-of-Medicare tool. A city may cross payment-area boundaries; the ZIP lookup above helps resolve the location.

2 of 2 payment localities

Office and facility base rates · shared scale starting at $0

Need rates for a whole code list?

Fee-sheet and API access are in early access. Tell us which codes and locations your team needs.

Explore fee-sheet early access →

59200 billing questions

How is this different from instrumental cervical dilation?

This code describes placing a dilator for cervical preparation. Code 57800 describes instrumental dilation of the cervical canal, generally a direct dilation service rather than placement of a dilator for gradual preparation.

Can it be reported with a uterine evacuation?

It may be part of the same treatment episode, but the separate-procedure designation means placement integral to the evacuation is not separately reported. Documentation should establish a distinct service when separate reporting is appropriate.

Does the code include the evacuation that follows?

No. It reports dilator placement, not the subsequent procedure, such as an induced abortion by dilation and evacuation.

Is modifier 50 appropriate?

No. CMS identifies bilateral adjustment as inappropriate for this code.

What is included in the 0-day global period?

Same-day preoperative and postoperative care is included. The global period does not extend beyond the day of the procedure.

How does CMS handle payment when other procedures occur in the same session?

The highest-valued procedure is paid in full, and other procedures are subject to the standard multiple-procedure reduction. CMS does not pay an assistant at surgery, co-surgeons, or team surgery for this service.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense, and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indices and the applicable conversion factor. Unavailable or separately priced services are labeled rather than assigned a made-up amount.

Source: RVU26D. Effective 2026-10-01 through the day before 2027-01-01.

RVUs for 59200PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 6,650 (RVU26D)