15271 reports the application procedure for a skin substitute graft at specified trunk, arm, or leg sites; Q4296 identifies the Rebound Matrix product.
On this page
CMS RVU26D · Effective 2026-10-01
Q4296 Rebound Matrix Medicare reimbursement rates in Vermont
Report Rebound Matrix by square centimeter as wound coverage material alongside its application procedure, with the product quantity documented within the procedure's global period. Compare Q4296 office and facility rates across CMS payment localities in Vermont.
Amounts below use the non-QP conversion factor for participating physicians. These are base physician payments before claim-level adjustments, not patient costs or total hospital charges.
What does Medicare pay for Q4296 in Vermont?
Vermont has 1 payment locality in this comparison. Use the service location to choose the applicable amount. These are the supported base rates for the payment area shown below, using the same CMS release.
Office / nonfacility
$125.98
1 of 1 localities have a supported rate.
Payment area: Vermont
One mapped payment locality.
Facility setting
No supported rate
These are locality ranges, not averages or address-specific quotes. A facility-setting amount covers the physician service; it does not include a hospital’s separate bill. Choose a locality below to inspect its calculation, compare other payment areas, or price a percentage of Medicare.
Wound care products
About Q4296: Rebound Matrix wound coverage product
Report Rebound Matrix by square centimeter as wound coverage material alongside its application procedure, with the product quantity documented within the procedure's global period.
Q4296 identifies Rebound Matrix furnished for wound coverage and measured by square centimeter. It represents the product, not the clinician’s wound-preparation or application service. Wound-care physicians, podiatrists, and other qualified practitioners may use the matrix during wound treatment in an outpatient clinic or hospital setting; the code itself does not specify a wound cause, site, or severity.
Report Q4296 with the primary procedure for applying the matrix, using units that reflect the square centimeters reported. Document the product name, treated wound area, amount used, and associated application procedure so the supply quantity can be reconciled to the service. CMS classifies Q4296 as an add-on, payable only with a primary procedure and within that procedure’s global period. It is technical-component-only; a separate code covers interpretation.
CMS billing rules for Q4296
- Global period
- Add-on code: billed only together with a primary procedure and paid within that procedure's global period.
- Professional and technical components
- Technical-component-only code: a separate code covers interpretation.
Where the value comes from
- Work RVU0.00 · 0%
- Practice expense (office) RVU3.81 · 100%
- Malpractice RVU0.00 · 0%
This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.
Q4296 compared with similar codes
Office rates for Vermont, from the same CMS release.
15275 reports the application procedure at specified head, neck, hand, foot, or genital sites; Q4296 reports the product rather than the application.
Q4297 identifies Emerge Matrix, while Q4296 identifies Rebound Matrix. Select the product code matching the material furnished.
Q4280 identifies Xcell amnio matrix; Q4296 identifies Rebound Matrix. Both are product codes measured by square centimeter.
Compare Q4296 by payment locality
Find the payment area for your service address, then open its rate page for calculation inputs, release history and the percentage-of-Medicare tool. A city may cross payment-area boundaries; the ZIP lookup above helps resolve the location.
1 of 1 payment localities
Vermont →
Office / nonfacility
$125.98
Facility
Unavailable
Need rates for a whole code list?
Fee-sheet and API access are in early access. Tell us which codes and locations your team needs.
How this local rate is calculated
Each RVU component is multiplied by its own geographic practice cost index (GPCI). The three adjusted components are added, then multiplied by the conversion factor. These are the inputs used for Q4296 in Vermont.
PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv
18,383
- Code
- Q4296
- Physician work
- 0.00
- Practice expense
- 3.81
- Malpractice
- 0.00
GPCI2026.csv
105
- Locality
- Vermont
- Physician work
- 1.000
- Practice expense
- 0.990
- Malpractice
- 0.506
| Component | RVU | Locality factor | Adjusted |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physician work | 0.00 | × 1.000 | 0.0000 |
| Practice expense | 3.81 | × 0.990 | 3.7719 |
| Malpractice | 0.00 | × 0.506 | 0.0000 |
| Total RVUs | 3.7719 | ||
| Conversion factor | × 33.4009 | ||
Office / nonfacility rate, Vermont$125.98
Explore RVUs, geographic factors and the full formula
Office / nonfacility
| Component | RVU | Local GPCI |
|---|---|---|
| Work | 0 | 1 |
| Practice expense | 3.81 | 0.99 |
| Malpractice | 0 | 0.506 |
(0 × 1 + 3.81 × 0.99 + 0 × 0.506) × $33.4009 = $125.98
The office and facility calculations use their respective practice-expense RVUs. The facility amount here is the physician fee, not a separate hospital or facility bill.
Q4296 billing questions
Can Q4296 be reported by itself?
No. CMS identifies it as an add-on that must be billed with a primary procedure.
How are units determined?
The descriptor measures Rebound Matrix by square centimeter. Document the treated area and the product quantity reported.
Is the matrix application included in Q4296?
Q4296 identifies the product, while the primary procedure represents the application service. Report the required primary procedure with the product code.
How does the global-period rule affect payment?
CMS pays Q4296 within the global period of the primary procedure; it is not reported as a stand-alone service.
Does Q4296 include interpretation?
No. CMS classifies Q4296 as technical-component-only, with interpretation covered by a separate code.
Where these rates come from
FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense, and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indices and the applicable conversion factor. Unavailable or separately priced services are labeled rather than assigned a made-up amount.
Source: RVU26D. Effective 2026-10-01 through the day before 2027-01-01.
