CPT code 64484: Epidural injection, each additional lumbar or sacral level2026 Medicare rate & RVUs in Washington

Reports an image-guided transforaminal epidural injection at each additional lumbar or sacral level treated during the same procedure.

CMS RVU26DEffective Oct 1, 20262 payment localities276.7K Medicare services in 2024

Medicare pays $121.71–$137.37 for 64484 in the office in Washington, from Rest of Washington to King County, WA. Which amount applies depends on the service address.

$121.71–$137.37Office (non-facility)
$43.98–$46.80Hospital or facility

Medicare allowed amount for participating (non-QP) physicians, before deductible, coinsurance and claim adjustments. Not a patient’s bill or a hospital charge.

Your location

Medicare pays by the payment locality where the service is performed.

On this page 9 sections
  1. Rate in Washington
  2. What 64484 covers
  3. By payment locality
  4. How it’s calculated
  5. Payment rules
  6. Similar codes
  7. Related codes
  8. Billing questions
  9. Sources

What 64484 covers

This add-on reports an injection into the epidural space through a lumbar or sacral neural foramen at an additional spinal level. The clinician typically uses imaging guidance to position the needle near the affected nerve root and deliver medication for radicular pain, such as pain associated with disc disease or spinal stenosis. Pain specialists, anesthesiologists, and other clinicians who perform image-guided spine procedures commonly provide this service in an office or facility setting.

Report 64484 for each additional lumbar or sacral level treated after the first level, with 64483 for the initial level. The procedure note should identify the levels treated and support the additional injection. Imaging guidance is included in the injection service and is not separately reported for the same procedure. CMS treats this as an add-on code: it must be billed with its primary procedure and is paid within that procedure’s global period. When performed bilaterally and reported with modifier 50, CMS pays the bilateral procedure at 150%.

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

Where 64484 pays more and less in Washington

64484 office and facility rates by payment locality
Payment localityOfficeFacility
King County, WA$137.37$46.80
Rest of Washington$121.71$43.98

How the 64484 rate is calculated

Each of 64484’s three RVUs is multiplied by a geographic index (GPCI) for the payment locality, added up, and multiplied by the conversion factor. Drag the indexes or enter a ZIP to see what moves the rate.

How the rate is built · 64484

RVUs × geographic indexes × conversion factor

Office or facility?

Work0.98

0.98 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Practice expense2.46

2.46 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Malpractice0.08

0.08 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Adjusted RVUs

3.5200

Conversion factor

$33.4009

Medicare rate

$117.57

Every GPCI starts at 1.000, the national rate. Enter a ZIP or drag a slider.

Payment rules and modifiers for 64484

The CMS indicators that decide how 64484 is paid alongside other services.

CMS payment indicators · 64484

Epidural injection, each additional lumbar or sacral level

RuleCMS valueWhat it means
Global periodZZZAdd-on code: falls within the primary procedure’s global period.
Multiple procedures0No multiple-procedure reduction.
Bilateral (modifier 50)1Bilateral with modifier 50 pays 150% of the fee schedule amount.
Assistant at surgery (80/81/82/AS)1Not paid (statutory restriction).
Co-surgeons (62)0Not permitted.
Team surgery (66)0Not permitted.
Professional/technical0Physician service: no professional/technical split.

What modifiers do to the payment

Modifier 50 · payment effect

With and without the modifier

64484 without 50 · national office

$117.57

Epidural injection, each additional lumbar or sacral level

64484-50 · Bilateral: 150%

$176.36

Both sides on one line with modifier 50 are paid at 150% of the fee schedule amount (subject to multiple-procedure rules with other procedures).

When to use modifier 50

64484 compared with similar codes

Compare codes · National

4 codes, side by side

Office or facility?

  • 64484

    Epidural injection, each additional lumbar or sacral level0.98 wRVU

    $117.57

  • 64483

    Transforaminal epidural injection, lumbar or sacral, first level1.85 wRVU

    $264.87+$147.30

  • 64480

    Epidural injection, additional cervical/thoracic level1.17 wRVU

    $142.96+$25.39

  • 64493

    Facet joint injection, lumbar or sacral, one level1.48 wRVU

    $190.39+$72.82

How to choose

64483Transforaminal epidural injectionLumbar or sacral, first level
64483 reports the first lumbar or sacral transforaminal epidural level; 64484 reports each additional level and is not reported alone.
64480Epidural injectionAdditional cervical/thoracic level
64480 is the additional-level code for cervical or thoracic transforaminal epidural injections. Use 64484 for additional lumbar or sacral levels.
64493Facet joint injectionLumbar or sacral, one level
64493 describes an injection targeting a lumbar or sacral paravertebral facet joint, not medication delivered through a neural foramen into the epidural space.

64484 billing questions

When should 64484 be reported instead of 64483?

Use 64483 for the first lumbar or sacral transforaminal epidural level. Report 64484 for each additional level treated in the same procedure.

Can 64484 be billed by itself?

No. It is an add-on code and must be reported with the primary procedure, 64483.

Can imaging guidance be billed separately?

Imaging guidance is included in this injection service. Do not separately report guidance for the same injection.

How many units of 64484 should be reported?

Report one unit for each additional lumbar or sacral level treated beyond the first. Document the specific levels injected.

How is a bilateral procedure paid?

When the procedure is bilateral and reported with modifier 50, CMS pays it at 150%.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indexes and the conversion factor. Services without a published rate are labeled, never given a made-up amount. Amounts are Medicare allowed amounts before claim adjustments: not a patient’s bill or a commercial rate.

CMS RVU26D · effective Oct 1, 2026 through the day before Jan 1, 2027

Show the CMS file lines behind this rate
RVUs for 64484PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 7,129 (RVU26D)

Open CMS sourceHow we calculate rates

Did this answer your question about what 64484 pays in Washington?

Tell us what you were actually trying to work out. We’ll answer you directly, or build the page that does.

Fee sheets

Put 64484 and the rest of your codes on one sheet

Your codes at your locality, with payer contracts beside Medicare.

Build my fee sheet