CPT code 43238: EUS-guided biopsy, limited upper GI examination2026 Medicare rate & RVUs in Virginia

Reports upper endoscopy with ultrasound-guided needle sampling of a lesion in the upper GI wall or an adjacent structure during a limited examination.

CMS RVU26DEffective Oct 1, 2026One payment locality17.2K Medicare services in 2024

In Virginia, Medicare pays $199.17 for 43238 in a facility. There’s no office rate.

Not available in this settingOffice (non-facility)
$199.17Hospital or facility

Check a contract rate as a % of Medicare · 43238 nationwide

Medicare allowed amount for participating (non-QP) physicians, before deductible, coinsurance and claim adjustments. Not a patient’s bill or a hospital charge.

We’ll open 43238 for the payment locality that covers the ZIP.

On this page 11 sections
  1. Rate in Virginia
  2. What 43238 covers
  3. Compared with other areas
  4. Rate map
  5. How it’s calculated
  6. Payment rules
  7. Related codes
  8. Rate history
  9. Where it applies
  10. Billing questions
  11. Sources

What 43238 covers

A gastroenterologist performs this service by passing an endoscope through the mouth and using endoscopic ultrasound to guide a needle into a target for aspiration or tissue sampling. Typical targets include a subepithelial stomach lesion, a pancreatic mass, or a suspicious lymph node near the upper gastrointestinal tract. The service is commonly performed in a hospital endoscopy unit or ambulatory endoscopy setting when imaging and tissue acquisition are needed during the same procedure.

Choose 43238 when the EUS examination is limited to the relevant portion of the esophagus, stomach, or duodenum and adjacent structures, and needle sampling is performed. The report should identify the target, ultrasound-guided sampling, and the extent of the examination; the code includes the EUS examination and sampling, rather than a separately billed diagnostic EUS. CMS assigns a 0-day global period, so same-day preoperative and postoperative care is included. Endoscopy family pricing applies when related endoscopies are performed together. Modifier 50 is inappropriate for this anatomy. CMS does not pay an assistant at surgery and does not permit co-surgeon or team-surgery billing for this service.

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

How Virginia compares for 43238

Across 109 of 109 payment localities, the facility rate for 43238 runs from $189.66 in Arkansas to $269.14 in Alaska. Virginia pays $199.17. The RVUs are the same everywhere; the geographic indexes change the dollars.

43238 in Virginia vs other payment areas
  1. Virginia · this page$199.17
  2. Los Angeles, CA · California$214.94+$15.77
  3. Washington, DC area · District of Columbia$223.03+$23.86
  4. Miami, FL · Florida$229.10+$29.93
  5. Chicago, IL · Illinois$224.67+$25.50
  6. Manhattan, NY · New York$230.47+$31.30
  7. Alaska · Alaska$269.14+$69.97

Other areas in Virginia first, then benchmark localities. Bars start at $0.

Every other payment area

43238 in every other Medicare payment locality
Payment localityOfficeFacility
AlabamaAlabama—$191.27
ArkansasArkansas—$189.66
ArizonaArizona—$200.62
Bakersfield, CACalifornia—$206.44
Chico, CACalifornia—$205.09
El Centro, CACalifornia—$205.17
Fresno, CACalifornia—$205.09
Hanford, CACalifornia—$205.09

43238 rates by state

Office rate range in each state. Select a state to see its payment localities.

Explore a state

Local rates. Clear comparisons.

Hover or focus a tile to see its rate range. Select it to open the state’s fee schedule.

View every state and territory as a table
43238 office rate range by state
State / territoryOffice rate rangeLocalities
AKNo published base rate1
ALNo published base rate1
ARNo published base rate1
AZNo published base rate1
CANo published base rate29
CONo published base rate1
CTNo published base rate1
DCNo published base rate1
DENo published base rate1
FLNo published base rate3
GANo published base rate2
GUNo published base rate1
HINo published base rate1
IANo published base rate1
IDNo published base rate1
ILNo published base rate4
INNo published base rate1
KSNo published base rate1
KYNo published base rate1
LANo published base rate2
MANo published base rate2
MDNo published base rate3
MENo published base rate2
MINo published base rate2
MNNo published base rate1
MONo published base rate3
MSNo published base rate1
MTNo published base rate1
NCNo published base rate1
NDNo published base rate1
NENo published base rate1
NHNo published base rate1
NJNo published base rate2
NMNo published base rate1
NVNo published base rate1
NYNo published base rate5
OHNo published base rate1
OKNo published base rate1
ORNo published base rate2
PANo published base rate2
PRNo published base rate1
RINo published base rate1
SCNo published base rate1
SDNo published base rate1
TNNo published base rate1
TXNo published base rate8
UTNo published base rate1
VANo published base rate2
VINo published base rate1
VTNo published base rate1
WANo published base rate2
WINo published base rate1
WVNo published base rate1
WYNo published base rate1

See 43238 in every payment locality

How the 43238 rate is calculated

Each of 43238’s three RVUs is multiplied by a geographic index (GPCI) for the payment locality, added up, and multiplied by the conversion factor. Drag the indexes or enter a ZIP to see what moves the rate.

How the rate is built · 43238

RVUs × geographic indexes × conversion factor

Office or facility?

Work4.06

4.06 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Practice expense1.62

1.62 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Malpractice0.44

0.44 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Adjusted RVUs

6.1200

Conversion factor

$33.4009

Medicare rate

$204.41

Every GPCI starts at 1.000, the national rate. Enter a ZIP or drag a slider.

The exact Virginia inputs and CMS source lines

PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv

5,166

Code
43238
Physician work
4.06
Practice expense
1.62
Malpractice
0.44

GPCI2026.csv

106

Locality
Virginia
Physician work
1.000
Practice expense
0.983
Malpractice
0.706
Facility calculation for 43238 in Virginia
ComponentRVULocality factorAdjusted
Physician work4.06× 1.0004.0600
Practice expense1.62× 0.9831.5925
Malpractice0.44× 0.7060.3106
Total RVUs5.9631
Conversion factor× 33.4009

Facility rate, Virginia$199.17

Facility: (4.06 × 1 + 1.62 × 0.983 + 0.44 × 0.706) × $33.4009 = $199.17

Open 43238 in the RVU calculator

Payment rules and modifiers for 43238

The CMS indicators that decide how 43238 is paid alongside other services.

CMS payment indicators · 43238

EUS-guided biopsy, limited upper GI examination

RuleCMS valueWhat it means
Global period000Same-day global: pre- and post-op care on the day of the procedure is included.
Multiple procedures3Endoscopy family rules apply.
Bilateral (modifier 50)0The 150% bilateral adjustment doesn’t apply.
Assistant at surgery (80/81/82/AS)1Not paid (statutory restriction).
Co-surgeons (62)0Not permitted.
Team surgery (66)0Not permitted.
Professional/technical0Physician service: no professional/technical split.

What modifiers do to the payment

Modifier 51 · payment effect

With and without the modifier

43238 without 51 · national facility

$204.41

EUS-guided biopsy, limited upper GI examination

43238-51 · Second procedure: 50%

$102.21

When this isn’t the highest-valued procedure in the session, Medicare pays 50% of its fee schedule amount (the highest is paid at 100%).

When to use modifier 51

How 43238 has changed in Virginia

43238 · Office / nonfacility

Rate unavailable

Effective 2026-10-01

A rate is unavailable in one of these releases, so a change cannot be calculated.

Base rate by release · bars start at $0 · select a bar to compare

One bar per available release, ordered by effective date. Missing rates remain gaps. These comparisons hold the code, setting and locality identifiers constant; they do not isolate which policy or input caused a change.

What changed, release by release
Rates in every CMS release
Effective fromOfficeFacilityCMS release
2026-10-01Not available in this setting$199.17RVU26D
2026-07-01Not available in this setting$199.17RVU26C
2026-04-01Not available in this setting$199.17RVU26B
2026-01-01Not available in this setting$199.17RVU26A
2025-10-01Not available in this setting$217.70RVU25D
2025-07-01Not available in this setting$217.70RVU25C
2025-04-01Not available in this setting$217.70RVU25B
2025-01-01Not available in this setting$217.70RVU25A
2024-10-01Not available in this setting$222.88RVU24D
2024-07-01Not available in this setting$222.88RVU24C
2024-04-01Not available in this setting$222.88RVU24B
2024-03-09Not available in this setting$222.88RVU24AR
2024-01-01Not available in this setting$219.24RVU24A
2023-10-01Not available in this setting$226.93RVU23D
2023-07-01Not available in this setting$226.93RVU23C
2023-04-01Not available in this setting$226.93RVU23B
2023-01-01Not available in this setting$226.93RVU23A
2022-10-01Not available in this setting$232.68RVU22D
2022-07-01Not available in this setting$232.68RVU22C
2022-04-01Not available in this setting$232.68RVU22B
2022-01-01Not available in this setting$232.68RVU22A
2021-10-01Not available in this setting$233.88RVU21D
2021-07-01Not available in this setting$233.88RVU21C
2021-04-01Not available in this setting$233.88RVU21B
2021-01-01Not available in this setting$233.88RVU21A
2020-10-01Not available in this setting$239.58RVU20D
2020-07-01Not available in this setting$239.58RVU20C
2020-04-01Not available in this setting$239.58RVU20B
2020-01-01Not available in this setting$239.58RVU20A
2019-10-01Not available in this setting$242.60RVU19D
2019-07-01Not available in this setting$242.60RVU19C
2019-04-01Not available in this setting$242.60RVU19B
2019-01-01Not available in this setting$242.60RVU19A
2018-10-01Not available in this setting$243.40RVU18D
2018-07-01Not available in this setting$243.40RVU18C
2018-04-01Not available in this setting$243.40RVU18B
2018-01-01Not available in this setting$243.40RVU18AR1
2017-10-01Not available in this setting$242.08RVU17D
2017-07-01Not available in this setting$242.08RVU17C
2017-04-01Not available in this setting$242.08RVU17B
2017-01-01Not available in this setting$242.08RVU17A
2016-10-01Not available in this setting$245.48RVU16D
2016-07-01Not available in this setting$245.48RVU16C
2016-04-01Not available in this setting$245.48RVU16B
2016-01-01Not available in this setting$245.48RVU16A
2015-10-01Not available in this setting$251.15RVU15D
2015-07-01Not available in this setting$251.15RVU15C
2015-04-01Not available in this setting$249.90RVU15B
2015-01-01Not available in this setting$249.90RVU15A
2014-10-01Not available in this setting$239.58RVU14D
2014-07-01Not available in this setting$239.58RVU14C
2014-04-01Not available in this setting$239.58RVU14B
2014-01-01Not available in this setting$239.58RVU14A
2013-10-01Not available in this setting$285.51RVU13D
2013-07-01Not available in this setting$285.51RVU13C
2013-04-01Not available in this setting$285.51RVU13B
2013-01-01Not available in this setting$285.51RVU13AR

Price 43238 for an earlier date of service

Where the Virginia rate applies

Virginia is a Medicare payment area, not a city. Our Census mapping connects it to 628 cities and communities in Virginia. Some span more than one payment area; confirm with the service ZIP.

  • Abbs Valley
  • Abingdon
  • Accomac
  • Adwolf
  • Afton
  • Alberta
  • Aldie
  • Allison Gap

Browse all communities in Virginia

43238 billing questions

How does 43238 differ from 43242?

Both include EUS-guided needle sampling. 43238 is for a limited upper-GI EUS examination; 43242 describes examination of the esophagus, stomach, and duodenum with adjacent structures.

Can the diagnostic EUS be billed separately?

The EUS examination that guides the sampling is included in 43238. Do not separately report 43237 for that same examination.

When is 43239 a better fit?

Use 43239 for standard endoscopic biopsy of gastrointestinal mucosa. 43238 is for needle sampling guided by EUS, such as sampling a deeper wall lesion or an adjacent structure.

Does each needle pass count as a separate unit?

The code covers the endoscopic service with needle aspiration or biopsy sampling; it is not reported once for each needle pass.

Is modifier 50 appropriate?

No. The anatomy is not reported as a bilateral service, so modifier 50 is inappropriate.

Can an assistant or co-surgeon be billed?

CMS does not pay an assistant at surgery for this service and does not permit co-surgeon or team-surgery billing.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indexes and the conversion factor. Services without a published rate are labeled, never given a made-up amount. Amounts are Medicare allowed amounts before claim adjustments: not a patient’s bill or a commercial rate.

CMS RVU26D · effective Oct 1, 2026 through the day before Jan 1, 2027

Show the CMS file lines behind this rate
RVUs for 43238PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 5,166 (RVU26D)
Geographic factors for VirginiaGPCI2026.csv, line 106 (RVU26D)

Open CMS sourceHow we calculate rates

Did this answer your question about what 43238 pays in Virginia?

Tell us what you were actually trying to work out. We’ll answer you directly, or build the page that does.

Fee sheets

Put 43238 and the rest of your codes on one sheet

Your codes at your locality, with payer contracts beside Medicare.

Build my fee sheet