CPT code 63076: Cervical decompression, each additional interspace2026 Medicare rate & RVUs

Reports anterior cervical disc removal and spinal cord or nerve-root decompression at each additional interspace beyond the primary cervical level.

CMS RVU26DEffective Oct 1, 2026109 payment localities124 Medicare services in 2024

Medicare pays $217.11 for 63076 nationally in a facility.

Medicare rate · 63076

Cervical decompression, each additional interspace

Office or facility?

Work RVUs
3.94
Total RVUs
6.50
Global days
ZZZ

National rate · 2026

$217.11

Facility setting, before claim adjustments.

See every locality for 63076 →Billed by an NP, PA or therapist? →

Medicare allowed amount for participating (non-QP) physicians, before deductible, coinsurance and claim adjustments. Not a patient’s bill or a hospital charge.

Your location

Medicare pays by the payment locality where the service is performed.

On this page 10 sections
  1. Medicare rate
  2. What 63076 covers
  3. By payment locality
  4. Rate map
  5. How it’s calculated
  6. Payment rules
  7. Similar codes
  8. Related codes
  9. Billing questions
  10. Sources

What 63076 covers

This add-on describes anterior removal of disc material and decompression of the spinal cord or nerve roots at an additional cervical interspace. A neurosurgeon or orthopedic spine surgeon may perform it for multilevel cervical disc disease, such as when compression affects more than one disc space. The service may be performed in a hospital or another surgical facility, with or without a separately coded fusion procedure.

Report 63076 for each additional cervical interspace treated after the primary level, and pair it with 63075. The operative report should identify the cervical levels treated and describe the disc removal and neural decompression at each level. If an anterior cervical fusion code includes the discectomy and decompression at a level, those services are not separately reported again for that same level. CMS classifies 63076 as an add-on: it is billed only with a primary procedure and paid within that procedure’s global period.

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

Where 63076 pays more and less

The same RVUs, adjusted for each area’s costs. Open a locality for its calculation, history and nearby areas.

109 of 109 payment localities

63076 office and facility rates by payment locality
Payment localityOfficeFacility
AlabamaUnavailable$193.41
AlaskaUnavailable$266.83
ArizonaUnavailable$209.70
ArkansasUnavailable$190.57
Atlanta, GAUnavailable$226.65
Austin, TXUnavailable$215.09
Bakersfield, CAUnavailable$207.32
Baltimore area, MDUnavailable$232.36
Beaumont, TXUnavailable$210.21
Brazoria, TXUnavailable$208.51

63076 rates by state

Office rate range in each state. Select a state to see its payment localities.

Explore a state

Local rates. Clear comparisons.

Hover or focus a tile to see its rate range. Select it to open the state’s fee schedule.

View every state and territory as a table
63076 office rate range by state
State / territoryOffice rate rangeLocalities
AKNo published base rate1
ALNo published base rate1
ARNo published base rate1
AZNo published base rate1
CANo published base rate29
CONo published base rate1
CTNo published base rate1
DCNo published base rate1
DENo published base rate1
FLNo published base rate3
GANo published base rate2
GUNo published base rate1
HINo published base rate1
IANo published base rate1
IDNo published base rate1
ILNo published base rate4
INNo published base rate1
KSNo published base rate1
KYNo published base rate1
LANo published base rate2
MANo published base rate2
MDNo published base rate3
MENo published base rate2
MINo published base rate2
MNNo published base rate1
MONo published base rate3
MSNo published base rate1
MTNo published base rate1
NCNo published base rate1
NDNo published base rate1
NENo published base rate1
NHNo published base rate1
NJNo published base rate2
NMNo published base rate1
NVNo published base rate1
NYNo published base rate5
OHNo published base rate1
OKNo published base rate1
ORNo published base rate2
PANo published base rate2
PRNo published base rate1
RINo published base rate1
SCNo published base rate1
SDNo published base rate1
TNNo published base rate1
TXNo published base rate8
UTNo published base rate1
VANo published base rate2
VINo published base rate1
VTNo published base rate1
WANo published base rate2
WINo published base rate1
WVNo published base rate1
WYNo published base rate1

How the 63076 rate is calculated

Each of 63076’s three RVUs is multiplied by a geographic index (GPCI) for the payment locality, added up, and multiplied by the conversion factor. Drag the indexes or enter a ZIP to see what moves the rate.

How the rate is built · 63076

RVUs × geographic indexes × conversion factor

Office or facility?

Work3.94

3.94 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Practice expense1.30

1.30 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Malpractice1.26

1.26 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Adjusted RVUs

6.5000

Conversion factor

$33.4009

Medicare rate

$217.11

Every GPCI starts at 1.000, the national rate. Enter a ZIP or drag a slider.

Payment rules and modifiers for 63076

The CMS indicators that decide how 63076 is paid alongside other services.

CMS payment indicators · 63076

Cervical decompression, each additional interspace

RuleCMS valueWhat it means
Global periodZZZAdd-on code: falls within the primary procedure’s global period.
Multiple procedures0No multiple-procedure reduction.
Bilateral (modifier 50)0The 150% bilateral adjustment doesn’t apply.
Assistant at surgery (80/81/82/AS)2Paid.
Co-surgeons (62)2Permitted.
Team surgery (66)0Not permitted.
Professional/technical0Physician service: no professional/technical split.

What modifiers do to the payment

Modifier 80 · payment effect

With and without the modifier

63076 without 80 · national facility

$217.11

Cervical decompression, each additional interspace

63076-80 · Assistant: 16%

$34.74

A physician assistant at surgery is paid 16% of the surgeon’s fee schedule amount.

When to use modifier 80

63076 compared with similar codes

Compare codes · National

5 codes, side by side

Office or facility?

  • 63076

    Cervical decompression, each additional interspace3.94 wRVU

    Not priced

  • 63075

    Cervical discectomy, single interspace below C219.11 wRVU

    Not priced

  • 63077

    Thoracic disc surgery, single interspace, anterior approach22.31 wRVU

    Not priced

  • 63078

    Thoracic disk surgery, each additional interspace3.2 wRVU

    Not priced

  • 22552

    Cervical fusion, each additional interspace6.34 wRVU

    Not priced

How to choose

63075Cervical discectomySingle interspace below C2
63075 reports the primary cervical interspace procedure. Use 63076 only for additional cervical interspaces treated in the same operative service.
63077Thoracic disc surgerySingle interspace, anterior approach
63077 describes the primary anterior disc decompression at a thoracic interspace; 63076 is for an additional cervical interspace.
63078Thoracic disk surgeryEach additional interspace
63078 is the additional-interspace code for thoracic disc decompression. Use 63076 for additional cervical levels.
22552Cervical fusionEach additional interspace
22552 reports an additional level of cervical interbody fusion. Disc removal and decompression included in fusion work at that level are not separately reported again as 63076.

63076 billing questions

Can 63076 be reported by itself?

No. It is an add-on for additional cervical interspaces and must be reported with the primary procedure, 63075.

How many units should be reported?

Report one unit for each additional cervical interspace treated beyond the primary interspace. The operative report should support the levels and work performed.

Can 63076 be reported with cervical fusion?

Do not separately report disc removal and decompression at a level when the cervical fusion service includes that work at the same level.

What documentation supports the additional level?

The operative report should identify each cervical interspace and describe the anterior disc removal and decompression performed there.

How does CMS treat the global period?

CMS treats 63076 as an add-on billed only with a primary procedure, with payment within that primary procedure’s global period.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indexes and the conversion factor. Services without a published rate are labeled, never given a made-up amount. Amounts are Medicare allowed amounts before claim adjustments: not a patient’s bill or a commercial rate.

CMS RVU26D · effective Oct 1, 2026 through the day before Jan 1, 2027

Show the CMS file lines behind this rate
RVUs for 63076PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 7,018 (RVU26D)

Open CMS sourceHow we calculate rates

Did this answer your question about what 63076 pays?

Tell us what you were actually trying to work out. We’ll answer you directly, or build the page that does.

Fee sheets · Coming soon

Put 63076 and the rest of your codes on one sheet

Your codes at your locality, with payer contracts beside Medicare.

Join the waitlist