CPT code 64628: Basivertebral ablation, first two lumbar or sacral bodies2026 Medicare rate & RVUs

Reports image-guided thermal destruction of the intraosseous basivertebral nerve in up to the first two lumbar or sacral vertebral bodies.

CMS RVU26DEffective Oct 1, 2026109 payment localities13.2K Medicare services in 2024

Medicare pays $364.74 for 64628 nationally in a facility.

Medicare rate · 64628

Basivertebral ablation, first two lumbar or sacral bodies

Office or facility?

Work RVUs
6.97
Total RVUs
10.92
Global days
010

National rate · 2026

$364.74

Facility setting, before claim adjustments.

See every locality for 64628 →Billed by an NP, PA or therapist? →

Medicare allowed amount for participating (non-QP) physicians, before deductible, coinsurance and claim adjustments. Not a patient’s bill or a hospital charge.

Your location

Medicare pays by the payment locality where the service is performed.

On this page 10 sections
  1. Medicare rate
  2. What 64628 covers
  3. By payment locality
  4. Rate map
  5. How it’s calculated
  6. Payment rules
  7. Similar codes
  8. Related codes
  9. Billing questions
  10. Sources

What 64628 covers

This service uses a needle-based approach to thermally ablate the basivertebral nerve within lumbar or sacral vertebral bodies. It is generally performed by an interventional pain physician or spine specialist for selected patients with vertebrogenic axial low back pain associated with vertebral endplate changes. Imaging guidance is part of the service. Procedures are commonly performed in a hospital or ambulatory surgery center.

Report 64628 for treatment of the first one or two lumbar or sacral vertebral bodies; report 64629 for each additional body treated. The operative record should identify the treated vertebral levels and support the intraosseous target and thermal ablation. Guidance is included, so it is not separately reported as imaging for this procedure. Related postoperative visits during the 10-day global period are included. When multiple procedures are performed in the same session, the highest-valued procedure is paid in full and other procedures are subject to the standard multiple procedure reduction. Modifier 50 is inappropriate. Assistant-at-surgery payment is statutorily restricted, and co-surgeons and team surgery are not permitted.

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

Where 64628 pays more and less

The same RVUs, adjusted for each area’s costs. Open a locality for its calculation, history and nearby areas.

109 of 109 payment localities

64628 office and facility rates by payment locality
Payment localityOfficeFacility
AlabamaUnavailable$340.82
AlaskaUnavailable$477.35
ArizonaUnavailable$357.93
ArkansasUnavailable$337.86
Atlanta, GAUnavailable$372.00
Austin, TXUnavailable$368.72
Bakersfield, CAUnavailable$370.12
Baltimore area, MDUnavailable$382.04
Beaumont, TXUnavailable$353.32
Brazoria, TXUnavailable$360.34

64628 rates by state

Office rate range in each state. Select a state to see its payment localities.

Explore a state

Local rates. Clear comparisons.

Hover or focus a tile to see its rate range. Select it to open the state’s fee schedule.

View every state and territory as a table
64628 office rate range by state
State / territoryOffice rate rangeLocalities
AKNo published base rate1
ALNo published base rate1
ARNo published base rate1
AZNo published base rate1
CANo published base rate29
CONo published base rate1
CTNo published base rate1
DCNo published base rate1
DENo published base rate1
FLNo published base rate3
GANo published base rate2
GUNo published base rate1
HINo published base rate1
IANo published base rate1
IDNo published base rate1
ILNo published base rate4
INNo published base rate1
KSNo published base rate1
KYNo published base rate1
LANo published base rate2
MANo published base rate2
MDNo published base rate3
MENo published base rate2
MINo published base rate2
MNNo published base rate1
MONo published base rate3
MSNo published base rate1
MTNo published base rate1
NCNo published base rate1
NDNo published base rate1
NENo published base rate1
NHNo published base rate1
NJNo published base rate2
NMNo published base rate1
NVNo published base rate1
NYNo published base rate5
OHNo published base rate1
OKNo published base rate1
ORNo published base rate2
PANo published base rate2
PRNo published base rate1
RINo published base rate1
SCNo published base rate1
SDNo published base rate1
TNNo published base rate1
TXNo published base rate8
UTNo published base rate1
VANo published base rate2
VINo published base rate1
VTNo published base rate1
WANo published base rate2
WINo published base rate1
WVNo published base rate1
WYNo published base rate1

How the 64628 rate is calculated

Each of 64628’s three RVUs is multiplied by a geographic index (GPCI) for the payment locality, added up, and multiplied by the conversion factor. Drag the indexes or enter a ZIP to see what moves the rate.

How the rate is built · 64628

RVUs × geographic indexes × conversion factor

Office or facility?

Work6.97

6.97 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Practice expense3.23

3.23 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Malpractice0.72

0.72 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Adjusted RVUs

10.9200

Conversion factor

$33.4009

Medicare rate

$364.74

Every GPCI starts at 1.000, the national rate. Enter a ZIP or drag a slider.

Payment rules and modifiers for 64628

64628 has a 10-day global period: related visits in that window are included in the surgery payment.

CMS payment indicators · 64628

Basivertebral ablation, first two lumbar or sacral bodies

RuleCMS valueWhat it means
Global period010Minor procedure: the day of the procedure plus 10 days after are included.
Multiple procedures2Standard reduction: highest-valued procedure at 100%, others at 50%.
Bilateral (modifier 50)0The 150% bilateral adjustment doesn’t apply.
Assistant at surgery (80/81/82/AS)1Not paid (statutory restriction).
Co-surgeons (62)0Not permitted.
Team surgery (66)0Not permitted.
Professional/technical0Physician service: no professional/technical split.
Split (54/55/56)0.10/0.80/0.10Share of the payment for pre-op, the procedure itself, and post-op care.

Global surgery period · 64628

Basivertebral ablation, first two lumbar or sacral bodies

10-day global period ends

Oct 11, 2026

Covers Oct 1, 2026 through Oct 11, 2026 (11 days).

Visit on Oct 31, 2026

After the global period ends: visits and procedures are billed normally.

SurgeryVisit
Sep 28, 2026Oct 14, 2026

What modifiers do to the payment

Modifier 51 · payment effect

With and without the modifier

64628 without 51 · national facility

$364.74

Basivertebral ablation, first two lumbar or sacral bodies

64628-51 · Second procedure: 50%

$182.37

When this isn’t the highest-valued procedure in the session, Medicare pays 50% of its fee schedule amount (the highest is paid at 100%).

When to use modifier 51

64628 compared with similar codes

Compare codes · National

4 codes, side by side

Office or facility?

  • 64628

    Basivertebral ablation, first two lumbar or sacral bodies6.97 wRVU

    Not priced

  • 64629

    Basivertebral nerve ablation, each additional vertebral body3.68 wRVU

    Not priced

  • 64635

    Facet nerve ablation, first lumbar or sacral joint3.24 wRVU

    $464.94

  • 64625

    Radiofrequency ablation, SI-joint innervation3.31 wRVU

    $495.67

How to choose

64629Basivertebral nerve ablationEach additional vertebral body
64628 covers the first one or two lumbar or sacral vertebral bodies. 64629 is reported for each additional vertebral body treated.
64635Facet nerve ablationFirst lumbar or sacral joint
64635 is lumbar or sacral facet-joint nerve destruction. Choose 64628 when the ablation target is the intraosseous basivertebral nerve within vertebral bodies.
64625Radiofrequency ablationSI-joint innervation
64625 addresses nerves supplying the sacroiliac joint; 64628 targets the basivertebral nerve inside lumbar or sacral vertebral bodies.

64628 billing questions

When is 64628 reported instead of 64629?

64628 covers treatment of the first one or two lumbar or sacral vertebral bodies. Use 64629 for each additional vertebral body treated beyond those first two.

Can imaging guidance be billed separately?

No. Imaging guidance is included in 64628; it is not separately reported as guidance for this ablation.

What documentation supports the number of units?

Document the vertebral levels treated and the intraosseous basivertebral nerve ablation performed at each level. The additional-body code is reported per vertebral body beyond the first two.

Does modifier 50 apply when treatment is on both sides?

No. CMS identifies bilateral adjustment as inappropriate for this code; do not append modifier 50.

Are related postoperative visits separately payable?

Related postoperative visits during the 10-day global period are included in the procedure.

Can an assistant or co-surgeon be reported?

Assistant-at-surgery payment is statutorily restricted for this code. Co-surgeons and team surgery are not permitted.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indexes and the conversion factor. Services without a published rate are labeled, never given a made-up amount. Amounts are Medicare allowed amounts before claim adjustments: not a patient’s bill or a commercial rate.

CMS RVU26D · effective Oct 1, 2026 through the day before Jan 1, 2027

Show the CMS file lines behind this rate
RVUs for 64628PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 7,176 (RVU26D)

Open CMS sourceHow we calculate rates

Did this answer your question about what 64628 pays?

Tell us what you were actually trying to work out. We’ll answer you directly, or build the page that does.

Fee sheets · Coming soon

Put 64628 and the rest of your codes on one sheet

Your codes at your locality, with payer contracts beside Medicare.

Join the waitlist