CPT code 76815: Obstetric ultrasound, limited assessment2026 Medicare rate & RVUs in Montana

Reports a focused obstetric ultrasound to answer a specific clinical question, such as fetal position, cardiac activity, placental location, or amniotic fluid.

CMS RVU26DEffective Oct 1, 2026One payment locality6.9K Medicare services in 2024

In Montana, Medicare pays $81.49 for 76815 in the office.

$81.49Office (non-facility)
Not available in this settingHospital or facility
−0.0%vs the national office rate ($81.50)

Check a contract rate as a % of Medicare · 76815 nationwide

Medicare allowed amount for participating (non-QP) physicians, before deductible, coinsurance and claim adjustments. Not a patient’s bill or a hospital charge.

We’ll open 76815 for the payment locality that covers the ZIP.

On this page 11 sections
  1. Rate in Montana
  2. What 76815 covers
  3. Compared with other areas
  4. Rate map
  5. How it’s calculated
  6. Payment rules
  7. Related codes
  8. Rate history
  9. Where it applies
  10. Billing questions
  11. Sources

What 76815 covers

A limited obstetric ultrasound is a focused real-time examination of the pregnant uterus, with image documentation, to assess a specific concern rather than complete a routine anatomic survey. Common clinical questions include fetal cardiac activity, fetal presentation, placental location, or a qualitative assessment of amniotic fluid. Obstetricians, radiologists, and other qualified imaging professionals may perform and interpret the study in an office, imaging center, or hospital.

Report 76815 when the documented examination is limited to the relevant question; it may cover one or more fetuses and is not reported per fetus. A complete survey or a follow-up examination that reassesses fetal growth belongs to a different code. The record should identify the indication, the structures or findings assessed, and the interpretation, supported by retained images. CMS recognizes professional and technical components: modifier 26 identifies interpretation, modifier TC identifies equipment and staff, and no modifier represents the global service.

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

How Montana compares for 76815

Across 109 of 109 payment localities, the office rate for 76815 runs from $72.40 in Arkansas to $109.02 in San Benito County, CA. Montana pays $81.49. The RVUs are the same everywhere; the geographic indexes change the dollars.

76815 in Montana vs other payment areas
  1. Montana · this page$81.49
  2. Los Angeles, CA · California$92.56+$11.07
  3. Washington, DC area · District of Columbia$93.29+$11.80
  4. Miami, FL · Florida$86.46+$4.97
  5. Chicago, IL · Illinois$84.10+$2.61
  6. Manhattan, NY · New York$93.35+$11.86
  7. Alaska · Alaska$95.09+$13.60

Other areas in Montana first, then benchmark localities. Bars start at $0.

Every other payment area

76815 in every other Medicare payment locality
Payment localityOfficeFacility
AlabamaAlabama$73.43—
ArkansasArkansas$72.40—
ArizonaArizona$79.44—
Bakersfield, CACalifornia$86.89—
Chico, CACalifornia$86.72—
El Centro, CACalifornia$86.73—
Fresno, CACalifornia$86.72—
Hanford, CACalifornia$86.72—

76815 rates by state

Office rate range in each state. Select a state to see its payment localities.

Explore a state

Local rates. Clear comparisons.

Hover or focus a tile to see its rate range. Select it to open the state’s fee schedule.

$72.40

$97.87

Color shows the midpoint of each state’s locality range.

View every state and territory as a table
76815 office rate range by state
State / territoryOffice rate rangeLocalities
AK$95.091
AL$73.431
AR$72.401
AZ$79.441
CA$86.72–$109.0229
CO$85.151
CT$86.801
DC$93.291
DE$80.731
FL$79.75–$86.463
GA$75.47–$82.842
GU$88.851
HI$88.851
IA$75.491
ID$75.921
IL$77.32–$84.524
IN$76.351
KS$75.031
KY$74.831
LA$74.67–$78.262
MA$84.61–$93.582
MD$82.28–$93.293
ME$76.16–$80.352
MI$76.60–$80.592
MN$82.031
MO$73.34–$78.683
MS$72.891
MT$81.491
NC$76.961
ND$80.511
NE$75.931
NH$83.701
NJ$87.91–$92.342
NM$76.951
NV$81.281
NY$78.06–$95.395
OH$76.401
OK$74.841
OR$80.77–$87.932
PA$76.59–$84.612
PR$82.121
RI$83.661
SC$76.781
SD$80.391
TN$75.381
TX$76.09–$84.768
UT$77.801
VA$80.01–$93.292
VI$82.121
VT$80.091
WA$84.49–$95.592
WI$77.871
WV$74.521
WY$81.061

See 76815 in every payment locality

How the 76815 rate is calculated

Each of 76815’s three RVUs is multiplied by a geographic index (GPCI) for the payment locality, added up, and multiplied by the conversion factor. Drag the indexes or enter a ZIP to see what moves the rate.

How the rate is built · 76815

RVUs × geographic indexes × conversion factor

Office or facility?

Work0.63

0.63 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Practice expense1.76

1.76 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Malpractice0.05

0.05 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Adjusted RVUs

2.4400

Conversion factor

$33.4009

Medicare rate

$81.50

Every GPCI starts at 1.000, the national rate. Enter a ZIP or drag a slider.

The exact Montana inputs and CMS source lines

PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv

8,787

Code
76815
Physician work
0.63
Practice expense
1.76
Malpractice
0.05

GPCI2026.csv

71

Locality
Montana
Physician work
1.000
Practice expense
1.000
Malpractice
0.998
Office calculation for 76815 in Montana
ComponentRVULocality factorAdjusted
Physician work0.63× 1.0000.6300
Practice expense1.76× 1.0001.7600
Malpractice0.05× 0.9980.0499
Total RVUs2.4399
Conversion factor× 33.4009

Office rate, Montana$81.49

Office: (0.63 × 1 + 1.76 × 1 + 0.05 × 0.998) × $33.4009 = $81.49

Open 76815 in the RVU calculator

Payment rules and modifiers for 76815

The CMS indicators that decide how 76815 is paid alongside other services.

CMS payment indicators · 76815

Obstetric ultrasound, limited assessment

RuleCMS valueWhat it means
Global periodXXXThe global surgery concept doesn’t apply.
Multiple procedures0No multiple-procedure reduction.
Bilateral (modifier 50)0The 150% bilateral adjustment doesn’t apply.
Assistant at surgery (80/81/82/AS)0Not paid without supporting documentation.
Co-surgeons (62)0Not permitted.
Team surgery (66)0Not permitted.
Professional/technical1Diagnostic test with separate professional (26) and technical (TC) components.

What modifiers do to the payment

Modifier 26 · payment effect

With and without the modifier

76815 without 26 · national office

$81.50

Obstetric ultrasound, limited assessment

76815-26 · Professional component

$30.73

Pays only the interpretation and report.

When to use modifier 26

How 76815 has changed in Montana

76815 · Office / nonfacility

$81.49

Effective 2026-10-01

The base rate is $3.24 higher than on 2025-10-01, moving from $78.25 to $81.49 (4.1%).

It is unchanged from the immediately preceding available release, effective 2026-07-01.

Base rate by release · bars start at $0 · select a bar to compare

One bar per available release, ordered by effective date. Missing rates remain gaps. These comparisons hold the code, setting and locality identifiers constant; they do not isolate which policy or input caused a change.

What changed, release by release
  1. January 1, 2026

    RVU26A

    $78.25changed to$81.49

    • Conversion factor 32.3465 changed to 33.4009
    • Work RVU 0.65 changed to 0.63
    • Practice expense RVU 1.73 changed to 1.76
    • Malpractice RVU 0.04 changed to 0.05
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.978 changed to 0.998

    Held through RVU26B, RVU26C, RVU26D.

  2. January 1, 2025

    RVU25A

    $80.86changed to$78.25

    • Conversion factor 33.2875 changed to 32.3465
    • Practice expense RVU 1.74 changed to 1.73

    Held through RVU25B, RVU25C, RVU25D.

  3. March 9, 2024

    RVU24AR

    $79.54changed to$80.86

    • Conversion factor 32.7442 changed to 33.2875

    Held through RVU24B, RVU24C, RVU24D.

  4. January 1, 2024

    RVU24A

    $82.99changed to$79.54

    • Conversion factor 33.8872 changed to 32.7442
    • Practice expense RVU 1.75 changed to 1.74
    • Malpractice RVU 0.05 changed to 0.04
  5. January 1, 2023

    RVU23A

    $84.40changed to$82.99

    • Conversion factor 34.6062 changed to 33.8872
    • Practice expense RVU 1.74 changed to 1.75
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.977 changed to 0.978

    Held through RVU23B, RVU23C, RVU23D.

  6. January 1, 2022

    RVU22A

    $86.15changed to$84.40

    • Conversion factor 34.8931 changed to 34.6062
    • Practice expense RVU 1.77 changed to 1.74

    Held through RVU22B, RVU22C, RVU22D.

  7. January 1, 2021

    RVU21A

    $85.97changed to$86.15

    • Conversion factor 36.0896 changed to 34.8931
    • Practice expense RVU 1.68 changed to 1.77
    • Malpractice RVU 0.04 changed to 0.05
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.304 changed to 0.977

    Held through RVU21B, RVU21C, RVU21D.

  8. January 1, 2020

    RVU20A

    $86.91changed to$85.97

    • Conversion factor 36.0391 changed to 36.0896
    • Malpractice RVU 0.05 changed to 0.04
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.631 changed to 1.304

    Held through RVU20B, RVU20C, RVU20D.

  9. January 1, 2019

    RVU19A

    $87.89changed to$86.91

    • Conversion factor 35.9996 changed to 36.0391
    • Practice expense RVU 1.71 changed to 1.68

    Held through RVU19B, RVU19C, RVU19D.

  10. January 1, 2018

    RVU18AR1

    $87.62changed to$87.89

    • Conversion factor 35.8887 changed to 35.9996
    • Practice expense RVU 1.72 changed to 1.71
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.429 changed to 1.631

    Held through RVU18B, RVU18C, RVU18D.

  11. January 1, 2017

    RVU17A

    $85.98changed to$87.62

    • Conversion factor 35.8043 changed to 35.8887
    • Practice expense RVU 1.69 changed to 1.72
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.226 changed to 1.429

    Held through RVU17B, RVU17C, RVU17D.

  12. January 1, 2016

    RVU16A

    $86.73changed to$85.98

    • Conversion factor 35.9335 changed to 35.8043
    • Malpractice RVU 0.06 changed to 0.05

    Held through RVU16B, RVU16C, RVU16D.

  13. July 1, 2015

    RVU15C

    $86.30changed to$86.73

    • Conversion factor 35.7547 changed to 35.9335

    Held through RVU15D.

  14. January 1, 2015

    RVU15A

    $91.47changed to$86.30

    • Conversion factor 35.8228 changed to 35.7547
    • Practice expense RVU 1.88 changed to 1.69
    • Malpractice RVU 0.02 changed to 0.06
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.165 changed to 1.226

    Held through RVU15B.

  15. January 1, 2014

    RVU14A

    $91.93changed to$91.47

    • Conversion factor 34.0230 changed to 35.8228
    • Practice expense RVU 2.03 changed to 1.88
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.103 changed to 1.165

    Held through RVU14B, RVU14C, RVU14D.

  16. January 1, 2013

    RVU13AR

    Earliest loaded release: $91.93

    Held through RVU13B, RVU13C, RVU13D.

Rates in every CMS release
Effective fromOfficeFacilityCMS release
2026-10-01$81.49Not available in this settingRVU26D
2026-07-01$81.49Not available in this settingRVU26C
2026-04-01$81.49Not available in this settingRVU26B
2026-01-01$81.49Not available in this settingRVU26A
2025-10-01$78.25Not available in this settingRVU25D
2025-07-01$78.25Not available in this settingRVU25C
2025-04-01$78.25Not available in this settingRVU25B
2025-01-01$78.25Not available in this settingRVU25A
2024-10-01$80.86Not available in this settingRVU24D
2024-07-01$80.86Not available in this settingRVU24C
2024-04-01$80.86Not available in this settingRVU24B
2024-03-09$80.86Not available in this settingRVU24AR
2024-01-01$79.54Not available in this settingRVU24A
2023-10-01$82.99Not available in this settingRVU23D
2023-07-01$82.99Not available in this settingRVU23C
2023-04-01$82.99Not available in this settingRVU23B
2023-01-01$82.99Not available in this settingRVU23A
2022-10-01$84.40Not available in this settingRVU22D
2022-07-01$84.40Not available in this settingRVU22C
2022-04-01$84.40Not available in this settingRVU22B
2022-01-01$84.40Not available in this settingRVU22A
2021-10-01$86.15Not available in this settingRVU21D
2021-07-01$86.15Not available in this settingRVU21C
2021-04-01$86.15Not available in this settingRVU21B
2021-01-01$86.15Not available in this settingRVU21A
2020-10-01$85.97Not available in this settingRVU20D
2020-07-01$85.97Not available in this settingRVU20C
2020-04-01$85.97Not available in this settingRVU20B
2020-01-01$85.97Not available in this settingRVU20A
2019-10-01$86.91Not available in this settingRVU19D
2019-07-01$86.91Not available in this settingRVU19C
2019-04-01$86.91Not available in this settingRVU19B
2019-01-01$86.91Not available in this settingRVU19A
2018-10-01$87.89Not available in this settingRVU18D
2018-07-01$87.89Not available in this settingRVU18C
2018-04-01$87.89Not available in this settingRVU18B
2018-01-01$87.89Not available in this settingRVU18AR1
2017-10-01$87.62Not available in this settingRVU17D
2017-07-01$87.62Not available in this settingRVU17C
2017-04-01$87.62Not available in this settingRVU17B
2017-01-01$87.62Not available in this settingRVU17A
2016-10-01$85.98Not available in this settingRVU16D
2016-07-01$85.98Not available in this settingRVU16C
2016-04-01$85.98Not available in this settingRVU16B
2016-01-01$85.98Not available in this settingRVU16A
2015-10-01$86.73Not available in this settingRVU15D
2015-07-01$86.73Not available in this settingRVU15C
2015-04-01$86.30Not available in this settingRVU15B
2015-01-01$86.30Not available in this settingRVU15A
2014-10-01$91.47Not available in this settingRVU14D
2014-07-01$91.47Not available in this settingRVU14C
2014-04-01$91.47Not available in this settingRVU14B
2014-01-01$91.47Not available in this settingRVU14A
2013-10-01$91.93Not available in this settingRVU13D
2013-07-01$91.93Not available in this settingRVU13C
2013-04-01$91.93Not available in this settingRVU13B
2013-01-01$91.93Not available in this settingRVU13AR

Price 76815 for an earlier date of service

Where the Montana rate applies

Montana is a Medicare payment area, not a city. Our Census mapping connects it to 497 cities and communities in Montana. Some span more than one payment area; confirm with the service ZIP.

  • Absarokee
  • Acton
  • Alberton
  • Alder
  • Alzada
  • Amsterdam
  • Anaconda-Deer Lodge County
  • Antelope

Browse all communities in Montana

76815 billing questions

When should 76815 be chosen instead of 76816?

Use 76815 for a focused assessment such as fetal position, cardiac activity, placental location, or qualitative amniotic fluid. Use 76816 when the service is a follow-up examination that reassesses fetal growth.

Is 76815 reported once for each fetus?

No. The limited examination may cover one or more fetuses; 76815 is not reported per fetus.

Which component modifier should the claim use?

Use modifier 26 for the professional interpretation or modifier TC for the technical service. Report without either modifier when billing the global service.

Can a limited scan be reported with a complete obstetric ultrasound?

A limited scan should represent a distinct, medically necessary examination, not a subset of a complete study performed during the same encounter. The documentation should show the separate clinical question and work.

What documentation supports 76815?

Document the reason for the focused examination, the specific assessment performed, findings, and interpretation. Retained images should support the documented evaluation.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indexes and the conversion factor. Services without a published rate are labeled, never given a made-up amount. Amounts are Medicare allowed amounts before claim adjustments: not a patient’s bill or a commercial rate.

CMS RVU26D · effective Oct 1, 2026 through the day before Jan 1, 2027

Show the CMS file lines behind this rate
RVUs for 76815PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 8,787 (RVU26D)
Geographic factors for MontanaGPCI2026.csv, line 71 (RVU26D)

Open CMS sourceHow we calculate rates

Did this answer your question about what 76815 pays in Montana?

Tell us what you were actually trying to work out. We’ll answer you directly, or build the page that does.

Fee sheets · Coming soon

Put 76815 and the rest of your codes on one sheet

Your codes at your locality, with payer contracts beside Medicare.

Join the waitlist