CPT code 58555: Hysteroscopy, diagnostic only2026 Medicare rate & RVUs in Minnesota

Reports hysteroscopic inspection of the uterine cavity for diagnostic evaluation when no biopsy, tissue removal, or other operative hysteroscopic service is performed.

CMS RVU26DEffective Oct 1, 2026One payment locality1.2K Medicare services in 2024

In Minnesota, Medicare pays $323.99 for 58555 in the office and $124.99 when it’s performed in a hospital or facility.

$323.99Office (non-facility)
$124.99Hospital or facility
−1.2%vs the national office rate ($328.00)

Check a contract rate as a % of Medicare · 58555 nationwide

Medicare allowed amount for participating (non-QP) physicians, before deductible, coinsurance and claim adjustments. Not a patient’s bill or a hospital charge.

We’ll open 58555 for the payment locality that covers the ZIP.

On this page 11 sections
  1. Rate in Minnesota
  2. What 58555 covers
  3. Compared with other areas
  4. Rate map
  5. How it’s calculated
  6. Payment rules
  7. Related codes
  8. Rate history
  9. Where it applies
  10. Billing questions
  11. Sources

What 58555 covers

A gynecologist passes a hysteroscope through the cervix to inspect the endometrial cavity, for example when evaluating abnormal uterine bleeding or a suspected intracavitary abnormality. The procedure may be performed in an office or outpatient surgical setting. This code represents diagnostic visualization, not hysteroscopic sampling or treatment of a finding.

Report it when diagnostic inspection is the hysteroscopic service performed; document the indication, findings, and whether any operative work was done. Because it is a separate procedure, diagnostic inspection is generally not separately reported when it is part of a hysteroscopic biopsy or treatment. The 0-day global period includes same-day preoperative and postoperative care. For multiple procedures in one session, the highest-valued procedure is paid in full and other procedures are reduced by 50%. Bilateral adjustment is inappropriate. Assistant-at-surgery payment requires documented medical necessity; co-surgeons are permitted, while team surgery is not permitted.

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

How Minnesota compares for 58555

Across 109 of 109 payment localities, the office rate for 58555 runs from $288.73 in Arkansas to $430.74 in San Benito County, CA. Minnesota pays $323.99. The RVUs are the same everywhere; the geographic indexes change the dollars.

58555 in Minnesota vs other payment areas
  1. Minnesota · this page$323.99
  2. Los Angeles, CA · California$367.98+$43.99
  3. Washington, DC area · District of Columbia$374.72+$50.73
  4. Miami, FL · Florida$360.28+$36.29
  5. Chicago, IL · Illinois$349.20+$25.21
  6. Manhattan, NY · New York$379.06+$55.07
  7. Alaska · Alaska$379.08+$55.09

Other areas in Minnesota first, then benchmark localities. Bars start at $0.

Every other payment area

58555 in every other Medicare payment locality
Payment localityOfficeFacility
AlabamaAlabama$293.12$123.91
ArkansasArkansas$288.73$122.61
ArizonaArizona$318.80$131.41
Bakersfield, CACalifornia$345.53$133.57
Chico, CACalifornia$344.26$132.30
El Centro, CACalifornia$344.33$132.38
Fresno, CACalifornia$344.26$132.30
Hanford, CACalifornia$344.26$132.30

58555 rates by state

Office rate range in each state. Select a state to see its payment localities.

Explore a state

Local rates. Clear comparisons.

Hover or focus a tile to see its rate range. Select it to open the state’s fee schedule.

$288.73

$387.50

Color shows the midpoint of each state’s locality range.

View every state and territory as a table
58555 office rate range by state
State / territoryOffice rate rangeLocalities
AK$379.081
AL$293.121
AR$288.731
AZ$318.801
CA$344.26–$430.7429
CO$340.251
CT$350.341
DC$374.721
DE$324.191
FL$325.58–$360.283
GA$306.39–$334.912
GU$352.741
HI$352.741
IA$299.661
ID$301.931
IL$316.73–$349.204
IN$303.721
KS$298.771
KY$301.551
LA$301.28–$316.662
MA$338.34–$373.872
MD$330.35–$374.723
ME$304.17–$320.412
MI$310.20–$330.372
MN$323.991
MO$296.31–$317.143
MS$292.551
MT$327.971
NC$307.381
ND$319.071
NE$301.181
NH$335.421
NJ$353.77–$370.732
NM$312.191
NV$325.711
NY$312.19–$389.265
OH$308.391
OK$300.381
OR$322.63–$350.702
PA$308.57–$341.752
PR$330.271
RI$335.501
SC$308.511
SD$318.021
TN$300.401
TX$306.52–$339.618
UT$312.861
VA$319.72–$374.722
VI$330.271
VT$318.301
WA$337.54–$381.042
WI$308.071
WV$304.771
WY$324.091

See 58555 in every payment locality

How the 58555 rate is calculated

Each of 58555’s three RVUs is multiplied by a geographic index (GPCI) for the payment locality, added up, and multiplied by the conversion factor. Drag the indexes or enter a ZIP to see what moves the rate.

How the rate is built · 58555

RVUs × geographic indexes × conversion factor

Office or facility?

Work2.58

2.58 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Practice expense6.79

6.79 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Malpractice0.45

0.45 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Adjusted RVUs

9.8200

Conversion factor

$33.4009

Medicare rate

$328.00

Every GPCI starts at 1.000, the national rate. Enter a ZIP or drag a slider.

The exact Minnesota inputs and CMS source lines

PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv

6,566

Code
58555
Physician work
2.58
Practice expense
6.79
Malpractice
0.45

GPCI2026.csv

66

Locality
Minnesota
Physician work
1.000
Practice expense
1.029
Malpractice
0.296
Office calculation for 58555 in Minnesota
ComponentRVULocality factorAdjusted
Physician work2.58× 1.0002.5800
Practice expense6.79× 1.0296.9869
Malpractice0.45× 0.2960.1332
Total RVUs9.7001
Conversion factor× 33.4009

Office rate, Minnesota$323.99

Office: (2.58 × 1 + 6.79 × 1.029 + 0.45 × 0.296) × $33.4009 = $323.99

Facility: (2.58 × 1 + 1 × 1.029 + 0.45 × 0.296) × $33.4009 = $124.99

Open 58555 in the RVU calculator

Payment rules and modifiers for 58555

The CMS indicators that decide how 58555 is paid alongside other services.

CMS payment indicators · 58555

Hysteroscopy, diagnostic only

RuleCMS valueWhat it means
Global period000Same-day global: pre- and post-op care on the day of the procedure is included.
Multiple procedures2Standard reduction: highest-valued procedure at 100%, others at 50%.
Bilateral (modifier 50)0The 150% bilateral adjustment doesn’t apply.
Assistant at surgery (80/81/82/AS)0Not paid without supporting documentation.
Co-surgeons (62)2Permitted.
Team surgery (66)0Not permitted.
Professional/technical0Physician service: no professional/technical split.

What modifiers do to the payment

Modifier 51 · payment effect

With and without the modifier

58555 without 51 · national office

$328.00

Hysteroscopy, diagnostic only

58555-51 · Second procedure: 50%

$164.00

When this isn’t the highest-valued procedure in the session, Medicare pays 50% of its fee schedule amount (the highest is paid at 100%).

When to use modifier 51

How 58555 has changed in Minnesota

58555 · Office / nonfacility

$323.99

Effective 2026-10-01

The base rate is $0.03 lower than on 2025-10-01, moving from $324.02 to $323.99 (0.0%).

It is unchanged from the immediately preceding available release, effective 2026-07-01.

Base rate by release · bars start at $0 · select a bar to compare

One bar per available release, ordered by effective date. Missing rates remain gaps. These comparisons hold the code, setting and locality identifiers constant; they do not isolate which policy or input caused a change.

What changed, release by release
  1. January 1, 2026

    RVU26A

    $324.02changed to$323.99

    • Conversion factor 32.3465 changed to 33.4009
    • Work RVU 2.65 changed to 2.58
    • Practice expense RVU 7.05 changed to 6.79
    • Malpractice RVU 0.47 changed to 0.45
    • Practice expense GPCI 1.025 changed to 1.029
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.300 changed to 0.296

    Held through RVU26B, RVU26C, RVU26D.

  2. January 1, 2025

    RVU25A

    $357.03changed to$324.02

    • Conversion factor 33.2875 changed to 32.3465
    • Practice expense RVU 7.75 changed to 7.05
    • Malpractice RVU 0.44 changed to 0.47

    Held through RVU25B, RVU25C, RVU25D.

  3. March 9, 2024

    RVU24AR

    $351.21changed to$357.03

    • Conversion factor 32.7442 changed to 33.2875

    Held through RVU24B, RVU24C, RVU24D.

  4. January 1, 2024

    RVU24A

    $366.77changed to$351.21

    • Conversion factor 33.8872 changed to 32.7442
    • Practice expense RVU 7.88 changed to 7.75
    • Practice expense GPCI 1.019 changed to 1.025
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.326 changed to 0.300
  5. January 1, 2023

    RVU23A

    $378.34changed to$366.77

    • Conversion factor 34.6062 changed to 33.8872
    • Practice expense RVU 8.03 changed to 7.88
    • Malpractice RVU 0.42 changed to 0.44
    • Practice expense GPCI 1.013 changed to 1.019
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.353 changed to 0.326

    Held through RVU23B, RVU23C, RVU23D.

  6. January 1, 2022

    RVU22A

    $365.34changed to$378.34

    • Conversion factor 34.8931 changed to 34.6062
    • Practice expense RVU 7.57 changed to 8.03
    • Malpractice RVU 0.43 changed to 0.42

    Held through RVU22B, RVU22C, RVU22D.

  7. January 1, 2021

    RVU21A

    $327.12changed to$365.34

    • Conversion factor 36.0896 changed to 34.8931
    • Practice expense RVU 6.19 changed to 7.57
    • Malpractice RVU 0.42 changed to 0.43
    • Practice expense GPCI 1.012 changed to 1.013
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.357 changed to 0.353

    Held through RVU21B, RVU21C, RVU21D.

  8. January 1, 2020

    RVU20A

    $297.29changed to$327.12

    • Conversion factor 36.0391 changed to 36.0896
    • Practice expense RVU 5.42 changed to 6.19
    • Malpractice RVU 0.33 changed to 0.42
    • Practice expense GPCI 1.011 changed to 1.012
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.362 changed to 0.357

    Held through RVU20B, RVU20C, RVU20D.

  9. January 1, 2019

    RVU19A

    $268.08changed to$297.29

    • Conversion factor 35.9996 changed to 36.0391
    • Practice expense RVU 4.63 changed to 5.42
    • Malpractice RVU 0.32 changed to 0.33

    Held through RVU19B, RVU19C, RVU19D.

  10. January 1, 2018

    RVU18AR1

    $267.84changed to$268.08

    • Conversion factor 35.8887 changed to 35.9996
    • Practice expense GPCI 1.016 changed to 1.011
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.341 changed to 0.362

    Held through RVU18B, RVU18C, RVU18D.

  11. January 1, 2017

    RVU17A

    $308.96changed to$267.84

    • Conversion factor 35.8043 changed to 35.8887
    • Work RVU 3.33 changed to 2.65
    • Practice expense RVU 5.07 changed to 4.63
    • Malpractice RVU 0.40 changed to 0.32
    • Practice expense GPCI 1.020 changed to 1.016
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.319 changed to 0.341

    Held through RVU17B, RVU17C, RVU17D.

  12. January 1, 2016

    RVU16A

    $301.62changed to$308.96

    • Conversion factor 35.9335 changed to 35.8043
    • Practice expense RVU 4.83 changed to 5.07
    • Malpractice RVU 0.43 changed to 0.40

    Held through RVU16B, RVU16C, RVU16D.

  13. July 1, 2015

    RVU15C

    $300.12changed to$301.62

    • Conversion factor 35.7547 changed to 35.9335

    Held through RVU15D.

  14. January 1, 2015

    RVU15A

    $298.36changed to$300.12

    • Conversion factor 35.8228 changed to 35.7547
    • Practice expense RVU 4.76 changed to 4.83
    • Malpractice RVU 0.54 changed to 0.43
    • Practice expense GPCI 1.016 changed to 1.020
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.301 changed to 0.319

    Held through RVU15B.

  15. January 1, 2014

    RVU14A

    $299.78changed to$298.36

    • Conversion factor 34.0230 changed to 35.8228
    • Practice expense RVU 5.26 changed to 4.76
    • Malpractice RVU 0.56 changed to 0.54
    • Practice expense GPCI 1.012 changed to 1.016
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.282 changed to 0.301

    Held through RVU14B, RVU14C, RVU14D.

  16. October 1, 2013

    RVU13D

    No ratechanged to$299.78

  17. January 1, 2013

    RVU13AR

    Earliest loaded release: No rate

    Held through RVU13B, RVU13C.

Rates in every CMS release
Effective fromOfficeFacilityCMS release
2026-10-01$323.99$124.99RVU26D
2026-07-01$323.99$124.99RVU26C
2026-04-01$323.99$124.99RVU26B
2026-01-01$323.99$124.99RVU26A
2025-10-01$324.02$138.35RVU25D
2025-07-01$324.02$138.35RVU25C
2025-04-01$324.02$138.35RVU25B
2025-01-01$324.02$138.35RVU25A
2024-10-01$357.03$141.74RVU24D
2024-07-01$357.03$141.74RVU24C
2024-04-01$357.03$141.74RVU24B
2024-03-09$357.03$141.74RVU24AR
2024-01-01$351.21$139.42RVU24A
2023-10-01$366.77$143.70RVU23D
2023-07-01$366.77$143.70RVU23C
2023-04-01$366.77$143.70RVU23B
2023-01-01$366.77$143.70RVU23A
2022-10-01$378.34$144.86RVU22D
2022-07-01$378.34$144.86RVU22C
2022-04-01$378.34$144.86RVU22B
2022-01-01$378.34$144.86RVU22A
2021-10-01$365.34$146.54RVU21D
2021-07-01$365.34$146.54RVU21C
2021-04-01$365.34$146.54RVU21B
2021-01-01$365.34$146.54RVU21A
2020-10-01$327.12$150.35RVU20D
2020-07-01$327.12$150.35RVU20C
2020-04-01$327.12$150.35RVU20B
2020-01-01$327.12$150.35RVU20A
2019-10-01$297.29$149.73RVU19D
2019-07-01$297.29$149.73RVU19C
2019-04-01$297.29$149.73RVU19B
2019-01-01$297.29$149.73RVU19A
2018-10-01$268.08$150.52RVU18D
2018-07-01$268.08$150.52RVU18C
2018-04-01$268.08$150.52RVU18B
2018-01-01$268.08$150.52RVU18AR1
2017-10-01$267.84$151.16RVU17D
2017-07-01$267.84$151.16RVU17C
2017-04-01$267.84$151.16RVU17B
2017-01-01$267.84$151.16RVU17A
2016-10-01$308.96$183.69RVU16D
2016-07-01$308.96$183.69RVU16C
2016-04-01$308.96$183.69RVU16B
2016-01-01$308.96$183.69RVU16A
2015-10-01$301.62$185.06RVU15D
2015-07-01$301.62$185.06RVU15C
2015-04-01$300.12$184.14RVU15B
2015-01-01$300.12$184.14RVU15A
2014-10-01$298.36$185.53RVU14D
2014-07-01$298.36$185.53RVU14C
2014-04-01$298.36$185.53RVU14B
2014-01-01$298.36$185.53RVU14A
2013-10-01$299.78$180.30RVU13D
2013-07-01Rate data unavailableRate data unavailableRVU13C
2013-04-01Rate data unavailableRate data unavailableRVU13B
2013-01-01Rate data unavailableRate data unavailableRVU13AR

Price 58555 for an earlier date of service

Where the Minnesota rate applies

Minnesota is a Medicare payment area, not a city. Our Census mapping connects it to 916 cities and communities in Minnesota. Some span more than one payment area; confirm with the service ZIP.

  • Ada
  • Adams
  • Adrian
  • Afton
  • Aitkin
  • Akeley
  • Albany
  • Albert Lea

Browse all communities in Minnesota

58555 billing questions

When should 58555 be chosen instead of 58558?

Use 58555 for diagnostic cavity inspection without sampling or tissue removal. When hysteroscopy includes endometrial sampling or biopsy, 58558 describes the operative service.

Can 58555 be reported with an operative hysteroscopy code?

The diagnostic inspection is generally integral to hysteroscopic biopsy or treatment and is not separately reported for the same procedure. Report the code describing the operative work performed.

What documentation supports 58555?

Document the clinical reason for evaluating the cavity, the hysteroscopic findings, and that no biopsy or therapeutic work was performed.

Should modifier 50 be appended?

No. CMS identifies bilateral adjustment as inappropriate for this code.

How are multiple procedures in the same session paid?

The highest-valued procedure is paid in full, and the other procedures are subject to the standard 50% multiple-procedure reduction.

When is assistant-at-surgery payment allowed?

Payment for an assistant at surgery requires documentation of medical necessity. CMS permits co-surgeons but does not permit team surgery for this code.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indexes and the conversion factor. Services without a published rate are labeled, never given a made-up amount. Amounts are Medicare allowed amounts before claim adjustments: not a patient’s bill or a commercial rate.

CMS RVU26D · effective Oct 1, 2026 through the day before Jan 1, 2027

Show the CMS file lines behind this rate
RVUs for 58555PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 6,566 (RVU26D)
Geographic factors for MinnesotaGPCI2026.csv, line 66 (RVU26D)

Open CMS sourceHow we calculate rates

Did this answer your question about what 58555 pays in Minnesota?

Tell us what you were actually trying to work out. We’ll answer you directly, or build the page that does.

Fee sheets · Coming soon

Put 58555 and the rest of your codes on one sheet

Your codes at your locality, with payer contracts beside Medicare.

Join the waitlist