CPT code 58555: Hysteroscopy, diagnostic only2026 Medicare rate & RVUs in West Virginia

Reports hysteroscopic inspection of the uterine cavity for diagnostic evaluation when no biopsy, tissue removal, or other operative hysteroscopic service is performed.

CMS RVU26DEffective Oct 1, 2026One payment locality1.2K Medicare services in 2024

In West Virginia, Medicare pays $304.77 for 58555 in the office and $136.71 when it’s performed in a hospital or facility.

$304.77Office (non-facility)
$136.71Hospital or facility
−7.1%vs the national office rate ($328.00)

Check a contract rate as a % of Medicare · 58555 nationwide

Medicare allowed amount for participating (non-QP) physicians, before deductible, coinsurance and claim adjustments. Not a patient’s bill or a hospital charge.

We’ll open 58555 for the payment locality that covers the ZIP.

On this page 11 sections
  1. Rate in West Virginia
  2. What 58555 covers
  3. Compared with other areas
  4. Rate map
  5. How it’s calculated
  6. Payment rules
  7. Related codes
  8. Rate history
  9. Where it applies
  10. Billing questions
  11. Sources

What 58555 covers

A gynecologist passes a hysteroscope through the cervix to inspect the endometrial cavity, for example when evaluating abnormal uterine bleeding or a suspected intracavitary abnormality. The procedure may be performed in an office or outpatient surgical setting. This code represents diagnostic visualization, not hysteroscopic sampling or treatment of a finding.

Report it when diagnostic inspection is the hysteroscopic service performed; document the indication, findings, and whether any operative work was done. Because it is a separate procedure, diagnostic inspection is generally not separately reported when it is part of a hysteroscopic biopsy or treatment. The 0-day global period includes same-day preoperative and postoperative care. For multiple procedures in one session, the highest-valued procedure is paid in full and other procedures are reduced by 50%. Bilateral adjustment is inappropriate. Assistant-at-surgery payment requires documented medical necessity; co-surgeons are permitted, while team surgery is not permitted.

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

How West Virginia compares for 58555

Across 109 of 109 payment localities, the office rate for 58555 runs from $288.73 in Arkansas to $430.74 in San Benito County, CA. West Virginia pays $304.77. The RVUs are the same everywhere; the geographic indexes change the dollars.

58555 in West Virginia vs other payment areas
  1. West Virginia · this page$304.77
  2. Los Angeles, CA · California$367.98+$63.21
  3. Washington, DC area · District of Columbia$374.72+$69.95
  4. Miami, FL · Florida$360.28+$55.51
  5. Chicago, IL · Illinois$349.20+$44.43
  6. Manhattan, NY · New York$379.06+$74.29
  7. Alaska · Alaska$379.08+$74.31

Other areas in West Virginia first, then benchmark localities. Bars start at $0.

Every other payment area

58555 in every other Medicare payment locality
Payment localityOfficeFacility
AlabamaAlabama$293.12$123.91
ArkansasArkansas$288.73$122.61
ArizonaArizona$318.80$131.41
Bakersfield, CACalifornia$345.53$133.57
Chico, CACalifornia$344.26$132.30
El Centro, CACalifornia$344.33$132.38
Fresno, CACalifornia$344.26$132.30
Hanford, CACalifornia$344.26$132.30

58555 rates by state

Office rate range in each state. Select a state to see its payment localities.

Explore a state

Local rates. Clear comparisons.

Hover or focus a tile to see its rate range. Select it to open the state’s fee schedule.

$288.73

$387.50

Color shows the midpoint of each state’s locality range.

View every state and territory as a table
58555 office rate range by state
State / territoryOffice rate rangeLocalities
AK$379.081
AL$293.121
AR$288.731
AZ$318.801
CA$344.26–$430.7429
CO$340.251
CT$350.341
DC$374.721
DE$324.191
FL$325.58–$360.283
GA$306.39–$334.912
GU$352.741
HI$352.741
IA$299.661
ID$301.931
IL$316.73–$349.204
IN$303.721
KS$298.771
KY$301.551
LA$301.28–$316.662
MA$338.34–$373.872
MD$330.35–$374.723
ME$304.17–$320.412
MI$310.20–$330.372
MN$323.991
MO$296.31–$317.143
MS$292.551
MT$327.971
NC$307.381
ND$319.071
NE$301.181
NH$335.421
NJ$353.77–$370.732
NM$312.191
NV$325.711
NY$312.19–$389.265
OH$308.391
OK$300.381
OR$322.63–$350.702
PA$308.57–$341.752
PR$330.271
RI$335.501
SC$308.511
SD$318.021
TN$300.401
TX$306.52–$339.618
UT$312.861
VA$319.72–$374.722
VI$330.271
VT$318.301
WA$337.54–$381.042
WI$308.071
WV$304.771
WY$324.091

See 58555 in every payment locality

How the 58555 rate is calculated

Each of 58555’s three RVUs is multiplied by a geographic index (GPCI) for the payment locality, added up, and multiplied by the conversion factor. Drag the indexes or enter a ZIP to see what moves the rate.

How the rate is built · 58555

RVUs × geographic indexes × conversion factor

Office or facility?

Work2.58

2.58 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Practice expense6.79

6.79 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Malpractice0.45

0.45 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Adjusted RVUs

9.8200

Conversion factor

$33.4009

Medicare rate

$328.00

Every GPCI starts at 1.000, the national rate. Enter a ZIP or drag a slider.

The exact West Virginia inputs and CMS source lines

PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv

6,566

Code
58555
Physician work
2.58
Practice expense
6.79
Malpractice
0.45

GPCI2026.csv

110

Locality
West Virginia
Physician work
1.000
Practice expense
0.869
Malpractice
1.431
Office calculation for 58555 in West Virginia
ComponentRVULocality factorAdjusted
Physician work2.58× 1.0002.5800
Practice expense6.79× 0.8695.9005
Malpractice0.45× 1.4310.6440
Total RVUs9.1245
Conversion factor× 33.4009

Office rate, West Virginia$304.77

Office: (2.58 × 1 + 6.79 × 0.869 + 0.45 × 1.431) × $33.4009 = $304.77

Facility: (2.58 × 1 + 1 × 0.869 + 0.45 × 1.431) × $33.4009 = $136.71

Open 58555 in the RVU calculator

Payment rules and modifiers for 58555

The CMS indicators that decide how 58555 is paid alongside other services.

CMS payment indicators · 58555

Hysteroscopy, diagnostic only

RuleCMS valueWhat it means
Global period000Same-day global: pre- and post-op care on the day of the procedure is included.
Multiple procedures2Standard reduction: highest-valued procedure at 100%, others at 50%.
Bilateral (modifier 50)0The 150% bilateral adjustment doesn’t apply.
Assistant at surgery (80/81/82/AS)0Not paid without supporting documentation.
Co-surgeons (62)2Permitted.
Team surgery (66)0Not permitted.
Professional/technical0Physician service: no professional/technical split.

What modifiers do to the payment

Modifier 51 · payment effect

With and without the modifier

58555 without 51 · national office

$328.00

Hysteroscopy, diagnostic only

58555-51 · Second procedure: 50%

$164.00

When this isn’t the highest-valued procedure in the session, Medicare pays 50% of its fee schedule amount (the highest is paid at 100%).

When to use modifier 51

How 58555 has changed in West Virginia

58555 · Office / nonfacility

$304.77

Effective 2026-10-01

The base rate is $2.21 higher than on 2025-10-01, moving from $302.56 to $304.77 (0.7%).

It is unchanged from the immediately preceding available release, effective 2026-07-01.

Base rate by release · bars start at $0 · select a bar to compare

One bar per available release, ordered by effective date. Missing rates remain gaps. These comparisons hold the code, setting and locality identifiers constant; they do not isolate which policy or input caused a change.

What changed, release by release
  1. January 1, 2026

    RVU26A

    $302.56changed to$304.77

    • Conversion factor 32.3465 changed to 33.4009
    • Work RVU 2.65 changed to 2.58
    • Practice expense RVU 7.05 changed to 6.79
    • Malpractice RVU 0.47 changed to 0.45
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.862 changed to 0.869
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.333 changed to 1.431

    Held through RVU26B, RVU26C, RVU26D.

  2. January 1, 2025

    RVU25A

    $330.11changed to$302.56

    • Conversion factor 33.2875 changed to 32.3465
    • Practice expense RVU 7.75 changed to 7.05
    • Malpractice RVU 0.44 changed to 0.47

    Held through RVU25B, RVU25C, RVU25D.

  3. March 9, 2024

    RVU24AR

    $324.72changed to$330.11

    • Conversion factor 32.7442 changed to 33.2875

    Held through RVU24B, RVU24C, RVU24D.

  4. January 1, 2024

    RVU24A

    $338.32changed to$324.72

    • Conversion factor 33.8872 changed to 32.7442
    • Practice expense RVU 7.88 changed to 7.75
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.860 changed to 0.862
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.266 changed to 1.333
  5. January 1, 2023

    RVU23A

    $347.55changed to$338.32

    • Conversion factor 34.6062 changed to 33.8872
    • Practice expense RVU 8.03 changed to 7.88
    • Malpractice RVU 0.42 changed to 0.44
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.858 changed to 0.860
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.198 changed to 1.266

    Held through RVU23B, RVU23C, RVU23D.

  6. January 1, 2022

    RVU22A

    $337.07changed to$347.55

    • Conversion factor 34.8931 changed to 34.6062
    • Practice expense RVU 7.57 changed to 8.03
    • Malpractice RVU 0.43 changed to 0.42

    Held through RVU22B, RVU22C, RVU22D.

  7. January 1, 2021

    RVU21A

    $305.99changed to$337.07

    • Conversion factor 36.0896 changed to 34.8931
    • Practice expense RVU 6.19 changed to 7.57
    • Malpractice RVU 0.42 changed to 0.43
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.857 changed to 0.858
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.247 changed to 1.198

    Held through RVU21B, RVU21C, RVU21D.

  8. January 1, 2020

    RVU20A

    $278.32changed to$305.99

    • Conversion factor 36.0391 changed to 36.0896
    • Practice expense RVU 5.42 changed to 6.19
    • Malpractice RVU 0.33 changed to 0.42
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.296 changed to 1.247

    Held through RVU20B, RVU20C, RVU20D.

  9. January 1, 2019

    RVU19A

    $253.17changed to$278.32

    • Conversion factor 35.9996 changed to 36.0391
    • Practice expense RVU 4.63 changed to 5.42
    • Malpractice RVU 0.32 changed to 0.33

    Held through RVU19B, RVU19C, RVU19D.

  10. January 1, 2018

    RVU18AR1

    $250.65changed to$253.17

    • Conversion factor 35.8887 changed to 35.9996
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.847 changed to 0.857
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.289 changed to 1.296

    Held through RVU18B, RVU18C, RVU18D.

  11. January 1, 2017

    RVU17A

    $289.35changed to$250.65

    • Conversion factor 35.8043 changed to 35.8887
    • Work RVU 3.33 changed to 2.65
    • Practice expense RVU 5.07 changed to 4.63
    • Malpractice RVU 0.40 changed to 0.32
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.836 changed to 0.847
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.282 changed to 1.289

    Held through RVU17B, RVU17C, RVU17D.

  12. January 1, 2016

    RVU16A

    $284.56changed to$289.35

    • Conversion factor 35.9335 changed to 35.8043
    • Practice expense RVU 4.83 changed to 5.07
    • Malpractice RVU 0.43 changed to 0.40

    Held through RVU16B, RVU16C, RVU16D.

  13. July 1, 2015

    RVU15C

    $283.15changed to$284.56

    • Conversion factor 35.7547 changed to 35.9335

    Held through RVU15D.

  14. January 1, 2015

    RVU15A

    $285.46changed to$283.15

    • Conversion factor 35.8228 changed to 35.7547
    • Practice expense RVU 4.76 changed to 4.83
    • Malpractice RVU 0.54 changed to 0.43
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.832 changed to 0.836
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.256 changed to 1.282

    Held through RVU15B.

  15. January 1, 2014

    RVU14A

    $284.89changed to$285.46

    • Conversion factor 34.0230 changed to 35.8228
    • Practice expense RVU 5.26 changed to 4.76
    • Malpractice RVU 0.56 changed to 0.54
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.828 changed to 0.832
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.229 changed to 1.256

    Held through RVU14B, RVU14C, RVU14D.

  16. January 1, 2013

    RVU13AR

    Earliest loaded release: $284.89

    Held through RVU13B, RVU13C, RVU13D.

Rates in every CMS release
Effective fromOfficeFacilityCMS release
2026-10-01$304.77$136.71RVU26D
2026-07-01$304.77$136.71RVU26C
2026-04-01$304.77$136.71RVU26B
2026-01-01$304.77$136.71RVU26A
2025-10-01$302.56$146.41RVU25D
2025-07-01$302.56$146.41RVU25C
2025-04-01$302.56$146.41RVU25B
2025-01-01$302.56$146.41RVU25A
2024-10-01$330.11$149.05RVU24D
2024-07-01$330.11$149.05RVU24C
2024-04-01$330.11$149.05RVU24B
2024-03-09$330.11$149.05RVU24AR
2024-01-01$324.72$146.62RVU24A
2023-10-01$338.32$150.06RVU23D
2023-07-01$338.32$150.06RVU23C
2023-04-01$338.32$150.06RVU23B
2023-01-01$338.32$150.06RVU23A
2022-10-01$347.55$149.80RVU22D
2022-07-01$347.55$149.80RVU22C
2022-04-01$347.55$149.80RVU22B
2022-01-01$347.55$149.80RVU22A
2021-10-01$337.07$151.76RVU21D
2021-07-01$337.07$151.76RVU21C
2021-04-01$337.07$151.76RVU21B
2021-01-01$337.07$151.76RVU21A
2020-10-01$305.99$156.29RVU20D
2020-07-01$305.99$156.29RVU20C
2020-04-01$305.99$156.29RVU20B
2020-01-01$305.99$156.29RVU20A
2019-10-01$278.32$153.23RVU19D
2019-07-01$278.32$153.23RVU19C
2019-04-01$278.32$153.23RVU19B
2019-01-01$278.32$153.23RVU19A
2018-10-01$253.17$153.52RVU18D
2018-07-01$253.17$153.52RVU18C
2018-04-01$253.17$153.52RVU18B
2018-01-01$253.17$153.52RVU18AR1
2017-10-01$250.65$153.38RVU17D
2017-07-01$250.65$153.38RVU17C
2017-04-01$250.65$153.38RVU17B
2017-01-01$250.65$153.38RVU17A
2016-10-01$289.35$186.68RVU16D
2016-07-01$289.35$186.68RVU16C
2016-04-01$289.35$186.68RVU16B
2016-01-01$289.35$186.68RVU16A
2015-10-01$284.56$189.03RVU15D
2015-07-01$284.56$189.03RVU15C
2015-04-01$283.15$188.09RVU15B
2015-01-01$283.15$188.09RVU15A
2014-10-01$285.46$193.06RVU14D
2014-07-01$285.46$193.06RVU14C
2014-04-01$285.46$193.06RVU14B
2014-01-01$285.46$193.06RVU14A
2013-10-01$284.89$187.14RVU13D
2013-07-01$284.89$187.14RVU13C
2013-04-01$284.89$187.14RVU13B
2013-01-01$284.89$187.14RVU13AR

Price 58555 for an earlier date of service

Where the West Virginia rate applies

West Virginia is a Medicare payment area, not a city. Our Census mapping connects it to 439 cities and communities in West Virginia. Some span more than one payment area; confirm with the service ZIP.

  • Accoville
  • Addison (Webster Springs)
  • Adrian
  • Albright
  • Alderson
  • Alum Creek
  • Amherstdale
  • Anawalt

Browse all communities in West Virginia

58555 billing questions

When should 58555 be chosen instead of 58558?

Use 58555 for diagnostic cavity inspection without sampling or tissue removal. When hysteroscopy includes endometrial sampling or biopsy, 58558 describes the operative service.

Can 58555 be reported with an operative hysteroscopy code?

The diagnostic inspection is generally integral to hysteroscopic biopsy or treatment and is not separately reported for the same procedure. Report the code describing the operative work performed.

What documentation supports 58555?

Document the clinical reason for evaluating the cavity, the hysteroscopic findings, and that no biopsy or therapeutic work was performed.

Should modifier 50 be appended?

No. CMS identifies bilateral adjustment as inappropriate for this code.

How are multiple procedures in the same session paid?

The highest-valued procedure is paid in full, and the other procedures are subject to the standard 50% multiple-procedure reduction.

When is assistant-at-surgery payment allowed?

Payment for an assistant at surgery requires documentation of medical necessity. CMS permits co-surgeons but does not permit team surgery for this code.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indexes and the conversion factor. Services without a published rate are labeled, never given a made-up amount. Amounts are Medicare allowed amounts before claim adjustments: not a patient’s bill or a commercial rate.

CMS RVU26D · effective Oct 1, 2026 through the day before Jan 1, 2027

Show the CMS file lines behind this rate
RVUs for 58555PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 6,566 (RVU26D)
Geographic factors for West VirginiaGPCI2026.csv, line 110 (RVU26D)

Open CMS sourceHow we calculate rates

Did this answer your question about what 58555 pays in West Virginia?

Tell us what you were actually trying to work out. We’ll answer you directly, or build the page that does.

Fee sheets · Coming soon

Put 58555 and the rest of your codes on one sheet

Your codes at your locality, with payer contracts beside Medicare.

Join the waitlist