CPT code 63300: Vertebral resection, cervical, extradural, single segment2026 Medicare rate & RVUs

Cervical extradural vertebral body resection is reported for a single segment when removal decompresses the spinal cord or cervical nerve roots.

CMS RVU26DEffective Oct 1, 2026109 payment localities153 Medicare services in 2024

Medicare pays $1,741.19 for 63300 nationally in a facility.

Medicare rate · 63300

Vertebral resection, cervical, extradural, single segment

Office or facility?

Work RVUs
26.13
Total RVUs
52.13
Global days
090

National rate · 2026

$1,741.19

Facility setting, before claim adjustments.

See every locality for 63300 →Billed by an NP, PA or therapist? →

Medicare allowed amount for participating (non-QP) physicians, before deductible, coinsurance and claim adjustments. Not a patient’s bill or a hospital charge.

Your location

Medicare pays by the payment locality where the service is performed.

On this page 10 sections
  1. Medicare rate
  2. What 63300 covers
  3. By payment locality
  4. Rate map
  5. How it’s calculated
  6. Payment rules
  7. Similar codes
  8. Related codes
  9. Billing questions
  10. Sources

What 63300 covers

This operation removes a cervical vertebral body through an extradural route to relieve pressure on the spinal cord or cervical nerve roots. A neurosurgeon or orthopedic spine surgeon typically performs it in an operating room, for example, to remove an extradural vertebral tumor that requires body resection. The decompression is part of the resection service.

Report 63300 for one cervical vertebral segment when the operative report supports extradural resection and neural decompression. Document the cervical segment, extradural route, extent of vertebral-body removal, and structures decompressed. Code 63308 is the add-on for each additional vertebral segment when applicable. The 90-day global includes the day-before preoperative visit and 90 days of related postoperative care. For multiple procedures in the same session, the highest-valued procedure is paid in full and others at 50%. An assistant at surgery may be paid; co-surgeons require supporting documentation, and team surgery is not permitted. The anatomy is not reported bilaterally with modifier 50.

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

Where 63300 pays more and less

The same RVUs, adjusted for each area’s costs. Open a locality for its calculation, history and nearby areas.

109 of 109 payment localities

63300 office and facility rates by payment locality
Payment localityOfficeFacility
AlabamaUnavailable$1,534.28
AlaskaUnavailable$2,070.41
ArizonaUnavailable$1,678.30
ArkansasUnavailable$1,509.24
Atlanta, GAUnavailable$1,816.59
Austin, TXUnavailable$1,738.55
Bakersfield, CAUnavailable$1,686.12
Baltimore area, MDUnavailable$1,870.75
Beaumont, TXUnavailable$1,669.08
Brazoria, TXUnavailable$1,673.19

63300 rates by state

Office rate range in each state. Select a state to see its payment localities.

Explore a state

Local rates. Clear comparisons.

Hover or focus a tile to see its rate range. Select it to open the state’s fee schedule.

View every state and territory as a table
63300 office rate range by state
State / territoryOffice rate rangeLocalities
AKNo published base rate1
ALNo published base rate1
ARNo published base rate1
AZNo published base rate1
CANo published base rate29
CONo published base rate1
CTNo published base rate1
DCNo published base rate1
DENo published base rate1
FLNo published base rate3
GANo published base rate2
GUNo published base rate1
HINo published base rate1
IANo published base rate1
IDNo published base rate1
ILNo published base rate4
INNo published base rate1
KSNo published base rate1
KYNo published base rate1
LANo published base rate2
MANo published base rate2
MDNo published base rate3
MENo published base rate2
MINo published base rate2
MNNo published base rate1
MONo published base rate3
MSNo published base rate1
MTNo published base rate1
NCNo published base rate1
NDNo published base rate1
NENo published base rate1
NHNo published base rate1
NJNo published base rate2
NMNo published base rate1
NVNo published base rate1
NYNo published base rate5
OHNo published base rate1
OKNo published base rate1
ORNo published base rate2
PANo published base rate2
PRNo published base rate1
RINo published base rate1
SCNo published base rate1
SDNo published base rate1
TNNo published base rate1
TXNo published base rate8
UTNo published base rate1
VANo published base rate2
VINo published base rate1
VTNo published base rate1
WANo published base rate2
WINo published base rate1
WVNo published base rate1
WYNo published base rate1

How the 63300 rate is calculated

Each of 63300’s three RVUs is multiplied by a geographic index (GPCI) for the payment locality, added up, and multiplied by the conversion factor. Drag the indexes or enter a ZIP to see what moves the rate.

How the rate is built · 63300

RVUs × geographic indexes × conversion factor

Office or facility?

Work26.13

26.13 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Practice expense16.47

16.47 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Malpractice9.53

9.53 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Adjusted RVUs

52.1300

Conversion factor

$33.4009

Medicare rate

$1,741.19

Every GPCI starts at 1.000, the national rate. Enter a ZIP or drag a slider.

Payment rules and modifiers for 63300

63300 has a 90-day global period: related visits in that window are included in the surgery payment.

CMS payment indicators · 63300

Vertebral resection, cervical, extradural, single segment

RuleCMS valueWhat it means
Global period090Major surgery: the day before, the day of, and 90 days after are included.
Multiple procedures2Standard reduction: highest-valued procedure at 100%, others at 50%.
Bilateral (modifier 50)0The 150% bilateral adjustment doesn’t apply.
Assistant at surgery (80/81/82/AS)2Paid.
Co-surgeons (62)1Permitted with supporting documentation.
Team surgery (66)0Not permitted.
Professional/technical0Physician service: no professional/technical split.
Split (54/55/56)0.11/0.76/0.13Share of the payment for pre-op, the procedure itself, and post-op care.

Global surgery period · 63300

Vertebral resection, cervical, extradural, single segment

90-day global period ends

Dec 30, 2026

Covers Sep 30, 2026 through Dec 30, 2026 (92 days, including the day before surgery).

Visit on Oct 31, 2026

Day 30 of the 90-day post-op period: related follow-up care is included in the surgical payment.

  • 24Unrelated E/M visit by the same physician
  • 79Unrelated procedure (starts its own global period)
  • 58Staged, more extensive, or therapy procedure that was planned
  • 78Unplanned return to the operating room for a related complication
SurgeryVisit
Sep 23, 2026Jan 10, 2027

Pre-op dayGlobal period

What modifiers do to the payment

Modifier 51 · payment effect

With and without the modifier

63300 without 51 · national facility

$1,741.19

Vertebral resection, cervical, extradural, single segment

63300-51 · Second procedure: 50%

$870.60

When this isn’t the highest-valued procedure in the session, Medicare pays 50% of its fee schedule amount (the highest is paid at 100%).

When to use modifier 51

63300 compared with similar codes

Compare codes · National

5 codes, side by side

Office or facility?

  • 63300

    Vertebral resection, cervical, extradural, single segment26.13 wRVU

    Not priced

  • 63301

    Vertebral resection, thoracic, extradural lesion30.78 wRVU

    Not priced

  • 63304

    Spinal lesion surgery, cervical, intradural33 wRVU

    Not priced

  • 63081

    Cervical corpectomy, single segment25.45 wRVU

    Not priced

  • 63308

    Vertebral resection, each additional segment5.11 wRVU

    Not priced

How to choose

63301Vertebral resectionThoracic, extradural lesion
63301 is the extradural vertebral-body resection code for the thoracic level; 63300 is for the cervical level.
63304Spinal lesion surgeryCervical, intradural
Both describe cervical vertebral-body resection, but 63300 is extradural and 63304 is intradural.
63081Cervical corpectomySingle segment
63081 describes cervical corpectomy using an anterior approach. Choose between it and 63300 based on the operative approach and applicable procedure description.
63308Vertebral resectionEach additional segment
63308 is an add-on for an additional vertebral segment, not the primary single-segment cervical resection.

63300 billing questions

How does 63300 differ from 63304?

63300 describes extradural cervical vertebral-body resection. Use 63304 when the cervical resection is intradural.

Is decompression separately reported with 63300?

Cord or nerve-root decompression is included in this resection service; it is not a separate service under this code.

When can 63308 be added?

63308 is the add-on for each additional vertebral segment beyond the primary segment. It is reported with an eligible primary procedure, not by itself.

Should modifier 50 be appended?

No. This cervical vertebral-body service is not reported bilaterally with modifier 50.

What postoperative care is included?

The 90-day global includes the day-before preoperative visit and 90 days of related postoperative care.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indexes and the conversion factor. Services without a published rate are labeled, never given a made-up amount. Amounts are Medicare allowed amounts before claim adjustments: not a patient’s bill or a commercial rate.

CMS RVU26D · effective Oct 1, 2026 through the day before Jan 1, 2027

Show the CMS file lines behind this rate
RVUs for 63300PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 7,064 (RVU26D)

Open CMS sourceHow we calculate rates

Did this answer your question about what 63300 pays?

Tell us what you were actually trying to work out. We’ll answer you directly, or build the page that does.

Fee sheets · Coming soon

Put 63300 and the rest of your codes on one sheet

Your codes at your locality, with payer contracts beside Medicare.

Join the waitlist