CPT code 63300: Vertebral resection, cervical, extradural, single segment2026 Medicare rate & RVUs in Mississippi

Cervical extradural vertebral body resection is reported for a single segment when removal decompresses the spinal cord or cervical nerve roots.

CMS RVU26DEffective Oct 1, 2026One payment locality153 Medicare services in 2024

In Mississippi, Medicare pays $1,581.64 for 63300 in a facility. There’s no office rate.

Not available in this settingOffice (non-facility)
$1,581.64Hospital or facility

Check a contract rate as a % of Medicare · 63300 nationwide

Medicare allowed amount for participating (non-QP) physicians, before deductible, coinsurance and claim adjustments. Not a patient’s bill or a hospital charge.

We’ll open 63300 for the payment locality that covers the ZIP.

On this page 11 sections
  1. Rate in Mississippi
  2. What 63300 covers
  3. Compared with other areas
  4. Rate map
  5. How it’s calculated
  6. Payment rules
  7. Related codes
  8. Rate history
  9. Where it applies
  10. Billing questions
  11. Sources

What 63300 covers

This operation removes a cervical vertebral body through an extradural route to relieve pressure on the spinal cord or cervical nerve roots. A neurosurgeon or orthopedic spine surgeon typically performs it in an operating room, for example, to remove an extradural vertebral tumor that requires body resection. The decompression is part of the resection service.

Report 63300 for one cervical vertebral segment when the operative report supports extradural resection and neural decompression. Document the cervical segment, extradural route, extent of vertebral-body removal, and structures decompressed. Code 63308 is the add-on for each additional vertebral segment when applicable. The 90-day global includes the day-before preoperative visit and 90 days of related postoperative care. For multiple procedures in the same session, the highest-valued procedure is paid in full and others at 50%. An assistant at surgery may be paid; co-surgeons require supporting documentation, and team surgery is not permitted. The anatomy is not reported bilaterally with modifier 50.

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

How Mississippi compares for 63300

Across 109 of 109 payment localities, the facility rate for 63300 runs from $1,497.81 in Wisconsin to $2,250.44 in Miami, FL. Mississippi pays $1,581.64. The RVUs are the same everywhere; the geographic indexes change the dollars.

63300 in Mississippi vs other payment areas
  1. Mississippi · this page$1,581.64
  2. Los Angeles, CA · California$1,770.69+$189.05
  3. Washington, DC area · District of Columbia$1,922.21+$340.57
  4. Miami, FL · Florida$2,250.44+$668.80
  5. Chicago, IL · Illinois$2,162.26+$580.62
  6. Manhattan, NY · New York$2,072.69+$491.05
  7. Alaska · Alaska$2,070.41+$488.77

Other areas in Mississippi first, then benchmark localities. Bars start at $0.

Every other payment area

63300 in every other Medicare payment locality
Payment localityOfficeFacility
AlabamaAlabama—$1,534.28
ArkansasArkansas—$1,509.24
ArizonaArizona—$1,678.30
Bakersfield, CACalifornia—$1,686.12
Chico, CACalifornia—$1,661.14
El Centro, CACalifornia—$1,662.73
Fresno, CACalifornia—$1,661.14
Hanford, CACalifornia—$1,661.14

63300 rates by state

Office rate range in each state. Select a state to see its payment localities.

Explore a state

Local rates. Clear comparisons.

Hover or focus a tile to see its rate range. Select it to open the state’s fee schedule.

View every state and territory as a table
63300 office rate range by state
State / territoryOffice rate rangeLocalities
AKNo published base rate1
ALNo published base rate1
ARNo published base rate1
AZNo published base rate1
CANo published base rate29
CONo published base rate1
CTNo published base rate1
DCNo published base rate1
DENo published base rate1
FLNo published base rate3
GANo published base rate2
GUNo published base rate1
HINo published base rate1
IANo published base rate1
IDNo published base rate1
ILNo published base rate4
INNo published base rate1
KSNo published base rate1
KYNo published base rate1
LANo published base rate2
MANo published base rate2
MDNo published base rate3
MENo published base rate2
MINo published base rate2
MNNo published base rate1
MONo published base rate3
MSNo published base rate1
MTNo published base rate1
NCNo published base rate1
NDNo published base rate1
NENo published base rate1
NHNo published base rate1
NJNo published base rate2
NMNo published base rate1
NVNo published base rate1
NYNo published base rate5
OHNo published base rate1
OKNo published base rate1
ORNo published base rate2
PANo published base rate2
PRNo published base rate1
RINo published base rate1
SCNo published base rate1
SDNo published base rate1
TNNo published base rate1
TXNo published base rate8
UTNo published base rate1
VANo published base rate2
VINo published base rate1
VTNo published base rate1
WANo published base rate2
WINo published base rate1
WVNo published base rate1
WYNo published base rate1

See 63300 in every payment locality

How the 63300 rate is calculated

Each of 63300’s three RVUs is multiplied by a geographic index (GPCI) for the payment locality, added up, and multiplied by the conversion factor. Drag the indexes or enter a ZIP to see what moves the rate.

How the rate is built · 63300

RVUs × geographic indexes × conversion factor

Office or facility?

Work26.13

26.13 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Practice expense16.47

16.47 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Malpractice9.53

9.53 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Adjusted RVUs

52.1300

Conversion factor

$33.4009

Medicare rate

$1,741.19

Every GPCI starts at 1.000, the national rate. Enter a ZIP or drag a slider.

The exact Mississippi inputs and CMS source lines

PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv

7,064

Code
63300
Physician work
26.13
Practice expense
16.47
Malpractice
9.53

GPCI2026.csv

67

Locality
Mississippi
Physician work
1.000
Practice expense
0.861
Malpractice
0.739
Facility calculation for 63300 in Mississippi
ComponentRVULocality factorAdjusted
Physician work26.13× 1.00026.1300
Practice expense16.47× 0.86114.1807
Malpractice9.53× 0.7397.0427
Total RVUs47.3533
Conversion factor× 33.4009

Facility rate, Mississippi$1581.64

Facility: (26.13 × 1 + 16.47 × 0.861 + 9.53 × 0.739) × $33.4009 = $1581.64

Open 63300 in the RVU calculator

Payment rules and modifiers for 63300

63300 has a 90-day global period: related visits in that window are included in the surgery payment.

CMS payment indicators · 63300

Vertebral resection, cervical, extradural, single segment

RuleCMS valueWhat it means
Global period090Major surgery: the day before, the day of, and 90 days after are included.
Multiple procedures2Standard reduction: highest-valued procedure at 100%, others at 50%.
Bilateral (modifier 50)0The 150% bilateral adjustment doesn’t apply.
Assistant at surgery (80/81/82/AS)2Paid.
Co-surgeons (62)1Permitted with supporting documentation.
Team surgery (66)0Not permitted.
Professional/technical0Physician service: no professional/technical split.
Split (54/55/56)0.11/0.76/0.13Share of the payment for pre-op, the procedure itself, and post-op care.

Global surgery period · 63300

Vertebral resection, cervical, extradural, single segment

90-day global period ends

Dec 30, 2026

Covers Sep 30, 2026 through Dec 30, 2026 (92 days, including the day before surgery).

Visit on Oct 31, 2026

Day 30 of the 90-day post-op period: related follow-up care is included in the surgical payment.

  • 24Unrelated E/M visit by the same physician
  • 79Unrelated procedure (starts its own global period)
  • 58Staged, more extensive, or therapy procedure that was planned
  • 78Unplanned return to the operating room for a related complication
SurgeryVisit
Sep 23, 2026Jan 10, 2027

Pre-op dayGlobal period

What modifiers do to the payment

Modifier 51 · payment effect

With and without the modifier

63300 without 51 · national facility

$1,741.19

Vertebral resection, cervical, extradural, single segment

63300-51 · Second procedure: 50%

$870.60

When this isn’t the highest-valued procedure in the session, Medicare pays 50% of its fee schedule amount (the highest is paid at 100%).

When to use modifier 51

How 63300 has changed in Mississippi

63300 · Office / nonfacility

Rate unavailable

Effective 2026-10-01

A rate is unavailable in one of these releases, so a change cannot be calculated.

Base rate by release · bars start at $0 · select a bar to compare

One bar per available release, ordered by effective date. Missing rates remain gaps. These comparisons hold the code, setting and locality identifiers constant; they do not isolate which policy or input caused a change.

What changed, release by release
Rates in every CMS release
Effective fromOfficeFacilityCMS release
2026-10-01Not available in this setting$1,581.64RVU26D
2026-07-01Not available in this setting$1,581.64RVU26C
2026-04-01Not available in this setting$1,581.64RVU26B
2026-01-01Not available in this setting$1,581.64RVU26A
2025-10-01Not available in this setting$1,632.87RVU25D
2025-07-01Not available in this setting$1,632.87RVU25C
2025-04-01Not available in this setting$1,632.87RVU25B
2025-01-01Not available in this setting$1,632.87RVU25A
2024-10-01Not available in this setting$1,664.94RVU24D
2024-07-01Not available in this setting$1,664.94RVU24C
2024-04-01Not available in this setting$1,664.94RVU24B
2024-03-09Not available in this setting$1,664.94RVU24AR
2024-01-01Not available in this setting$1,637.76RVU24A
2023-10-01Not available in this setting$1,669.22RVU23D
2023-07-01Not available in this setting$1,669.22RVU23C
2023-04-01Not available in this setting$1,669.22RVU23B
2023-01-01Not available in this setting$1,669.22RVU23A
2022-10-01Not available in this setting$1,665.09RVU22D
2022-07-01Not available in this setting$1,665.09RVU22C
2022-04-01Not available in this setting$1,665.09RVU22B
2022-01-01Not available in this setting$1,665.09RVU22A
2021-10-01Not available in this setting$1,678.55RVU21D
2021-07-01Not available in this setting$1,678.55RVU21C
2021-04-01Not available in this setting$1,678.55RVU21B
2021-01-01Not available in this setting$1,678.55RVU21A
2020-10-01Not available in this setting$1,673.99RVU20D
2020-07-01Not available in this setting$1,673.99RVU20C
2020-04-01Not available in this setting$1,673.99RVU20B
2020-01-01Not available in this setting$1,673.99RVU20A
2019-10-01Not available in this setting$1,634.68RVU19D
2019-07-01Not available in this setting$1,634.68RVU19C
2019-04-01Not available in this setting$1,634.68RVU19B
2019-01-01Not available in this setting$1,634.68RVU19A
2018-10-01Not available in this setting$1,629.83RVU18D
2018-07-01Not available in this setting$1,629.83RVU18C
2018-04-01Not available in this setting$1,629.83RVU18B
2018-01-01Not available in this setting$1,629.83RVU18AR1
2017-10-01Not available in this setting$1,669.43RVU17D
2017-07-01Not available in this setting$1,669.43RVU17C
2017-04-01Not available in this setting$1,669.43RVU17B
2017-01-01Not available in this setting$1,669.43RVU17A
2016-10-01Not available in this setting$1,708.61RVU16D
2016-07-01Not available in this setting$1,708.61RVU16C
2016-04-01Not available in this setting$1,708.61RVU16B
2016-01-01Not available in this setting$1,708.61RVU16A
2015-10-01Not available in this setting$1,722.80RVU15D
2015-07-01Not available in this setting$1,722.80RVU15C
2015-04-01Not available in this setting$1,714.23RVU15B
2015-01-01Not available in this setting$1,714.23RVU15A
2014-10-01Not available in this setting$1,707.82RVU14D
2014-07-01Not available in this setting$1,707.82RVU14C
2014-04-01Not available in this setting$1,707.82RVU14B
2014-01-01Not available in this setting$1,707.82RVU14A
2013-10-01Not available in this setting$1,696.07RVU13D
2013-07-01Not available in this setting$1,696.07RVU13C
2013-04-01Not available in this setting$1,696.07RVU13B
2013-01-01Not available in this setting$1,696.07RVU13AR

Price 63300 for an earlier date of service

Where the Mississippi rate applies

Mississippi is a Medicare payment area, not a city. Our Census mapping connects it to 427 cities and communities in Mississippi. Some span more than one payment area; confirm with the service ZIP.

  • Abbeville
  • Aberdeen
  • Ackerman
  • Agricola
  • Alcorn State University
  • Algoma
  • Alligator
  • Amory

Browse all communities in Mississippi

63300 billing questions

How does 63300 differ from 63304?

63300 describes extradural cervical vertebral-body resection. Use 63304 when the cervical resection is intradural.

Is decompression separately reported with 63300?

Cord or nerve-root decompression is included in this resection service; it is not a separate service under this code.

When can 63308 be added?

63308 is the add-on for each additional vertebral segment beyond the primary segment. It is reported with an eligible primary procedure, not by itself.

Should modifier 50 be appended?

No. This cervical vertebral-body service is not reported bilaterally with modifier 50.

What postoperative care is included?

The 90-day global includes the day-before preoperative visit and 90 days of related postoperative care.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indexes and the conversion factor. Services without a published rate are labeled, never given a made-up amount. Amounts are Medicare allowed amounts before claim adjustments: not a patient’s bill or a commercial rate.

CMS RVU26D · effective Oct 1, 2026 through the day before Jan 1, 2027

Show the CMS file lines behind this rate
RVUs for 63300PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 7,064 (RVU26D)
Geographic factors for MississippiGPCI2026.csv, line 67 (RVU26D)

Open CMS sourceHow we calculate rates

Did this answer your question about what 63300 pays in Mississippi?

Tell us what you were actually trying to work out. We’ll answer you directly, or build the page that does.

Fee sheets · Coming soon

Put 63300 and the rest of your codes on one sheet

Your codes at your locality, with payer contracts beside Medicare.

Join the waitlist