CPT code 20611: Joint aspiration/injection, ultrasound-guided major joint or bursa2026 Medicare rate & RVUs in Utah

Needle aspiration, injection, or both into a major joint or bursa, such as the knee, shoulder, or hip, under ultrasound guidance with a recorded image and report.

CMS RVU26DEffective Oct 1, 2026One payment locality1.1M Medicare services in 2024

In Utah, Medicare pays $99.91 for 20611 in the office and $49.04 when it’s performed in a hospital or facility.

$99.91Office (non-facility)
$49.04Hospital or facility
−4.1%vs the national office rate ($104.21)

Check a contract rate as a % of Medicare · 20611 nationwide

Medicare allowed amount for participating (non-QP) physicians, before deductible, coinsurance and claim adjustments. Not a patient’s bill or a hospital charge.

We’ll open 20611 for the payment locality that covers the ZIP.

On this page 11 sections
  1. Rate in Utah
  2. What 20611 covers
  3. Compared with other areas
  4. Rate map
  5. How it’s calculated
  6. Payment rules
  7. Related codes
  8. Rate history
  9. Where it applies
  10. Billing questions
  11. Sources

What 20611 covers

This service covers aspiration or injection of a major joint or bursa, typically the knee, shoulder, hip, or subacromial bursa, with real-time ultrasound used to direct the needle. Common indications include corticosteroid or viscosupplement injection for osteoarthritis, aspiration of a knee effusion to evaluate for gout or infection, and subacromial injection for impingement. Orthopedists, sports medicine physicians, rheumatologists, physiatrists, and advanced practice providers perform it, mainly in offices.

Ultrasound guidance is built into the code, so a separate guidance code is not reported. Documentation should identify the joint or bursa, laterality, drug and dose or fluid volume removed, and include permanent recording and reporting of the ultrasound guidance. Without that recording and reporting, the unguided major joint code applies. The 0-day global period includes same-day preoperative and postoperative care; a significant, separately identifiable E/M service needs modifier 25. Bilateral procedures reported with modifier 50 are paid at 150%. For multiple procedures in one session, the highest-valued is paid in full and others at 50%. Assistant-at-surgery payment is statutorily restricted; co-surgeons and team surgery are not permitted.

This summary was written with AI assistance from CMS physician fee schedule data and checked against the CMS billing rules shown here. Rates on this page come directly from CMS files.

How Utah compares for 20611

Across 109 of 109 payment localities, the office rate for 20611 runs from $92.95 in Arkansas to $134.17 in San Benito County, CA. Utah pays $99.91. The RVUs are the same everywhere; the geographic indexes change the dollars.

20611 in Utah vs other payment areas
  1. Utah · this page$99.91
  2. Los Angeles, CA · California$115.78+$15.87
  3. Washington, DC area · District of Columbia$118.02+$18.11
  4. Miami, FL · Florida$113.98+$14.07
  5. Chicago, IL · Illinois$110.84+$10.93
  6. Manhattan, NY · New York$119.57+$19.66
  7. Alaska · Alaska$124.13+$24.22

Other areas in Utah first, then benchmark localities. Bars start at $0.

Every other payment area

20611 in every other Medicare payment locality
Payment localityOfficeFacility
AlabamaAlabama$94.21$46.86
ArkansasArkansas$92.95$46.47
ArizonaArizona$101.56$49.13
Bakersfield, CACalifornia$109.19$49.88
Chico, CACalifornia$108.77$49.47
El Centro, CACalifornia$108.80$49.49
Fresno, CACalifornia$108.77$49.47
Hanford, CACalifornia$108.77$49.47

20611 rates by state

Office rate range in each state. Select a state to see its payment localities.

Explore a state

Local rates. Clear comparisons.

Hover or focus a tile to see its rate range. Select it to open the state’s fee schedule.

$92.95

$124.13

Color shows the midpoint of each state’s locality range.

View every state and territory as a table
20611 office rate range by state
State / territoryOffice rate rangeLocalities
AK$124.131
AL$94.211
AR$92.951
AZ$101.561
CA$108.77–$134.1729
CO$107.701
CT$110.821
DC$118.021
DE$103.151
FL$103.76–$113.983
GA$98.22–$106.282
GU$110.981
HI$110.981
IA$95.971
ID$96.641
IL$101.29–$110.844
IN$97.151
KS$95.771
KY$96.731
LA$96.68–$101.082
MA$107.21–$117.542
MD$104.95–$118.023
ME$97.34–$101.912
MI$99.26–$105.192
MN$102.771
MO$95.29–$101.163
MS$94.121
MT$104.201
NC$98.251
ND$101.431
NE$96.391
NH$106.241
NJ$111.96–$116.992
NM$99.861
NV$103.491
NY$99.63–$122.565
OH$98.701
OK$96.341
OR$102.57–$110.672
PA$98.72–$108.372
PR$104.841
RI$106.491
SC$98.661
SD$101.111
TN$96.241
TX$98.14–$107.458
UT$99.911
VA$101.75–$118.022
VI$104.841
VT$101.261
WA$106.94–$119.622
WI$98.301
WV$97.871
WY$103.001

See 20611 in every payment locality

How the 20611 rate is calculated

Each of 20611’s three RVUs is multiplied by a geographic index (GPCI) for the payment locality, added up, and multiplied by the conversion factor. Drag the indexes or enter a ZIP to see what moves the rate.

How the rate is built · 20611

RVUs × geographic indexes × conversion factor

Office or facility?

Work1.07

1.07 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Practice expense1.91

1.91 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Malpractice0.14

0.14 RVUs× 1.000 GPCI

Adjusted RVUs

3.1200

Conversion factor

$33.4009

Medicare rate

$104.21

Every GPCI starts at 1.000, the national rate. Enter a ZIP or drag a slider.

The exact Utah inputs and CMS source lines

PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv

1,772

Code
20611
Physician work
1.07
Practice expense
1.91
Malpractice
0.14

GPCI2026.csv

104

Locality
Utah
Physician work
1.000
Practice expense
0.940
Malpractice
0.898
Office calculation for 20611 in Utah
ComponentRVULocality factorAdjusted
Physician work1.07× 1.0001.0700
Practice expense1.91× 0.9401.7954
Malpractice0.14× 0.8980.1257
Total RVUs2.9911
Conversion factor× 33.4009

Office rate, Utah$99.91

Office: (1.07 × 1 + 1.91 × 0.94 + 0.14 × 0.898) × $33.4009 = $99.91

Facility: (1.07 × 1 + 0.29 × 0.94 + 0.14 × 0.898) × $33.4009 = $49.04

Open 20611 in the RVU calculator

Payment rules and modifiers for 20611

The CMS indicators that decide how 20611 is paid alongside other services.

CMS payment indicators · 20611

Joint aspiration/injection, ultrasound-guided major joint or bursa

RuleCMS valueWhat it means
Global period000Same-day global: pre- and post-op care on the day of the procedure is included.
Multiple procedures2Standard reduction: highest-valued procedure at 100%, others at 50%.
Bilateral (modifier 50)1Bilateral with modifier 50 pays 150% of the fee schedule amount.
Assistant at surgery (80/81/82/AS)1Not paid (statutory restriction).
Co-surgeons (62)0Not permitted.
Team surgery (66)0Not permitted.
Professional/technical0Physician service: no professional/technical split.

What modifiers do to the payment

Modifier 50 · payment effect

With and without the modifier

20611 without 50 · national office

$104.21

Joint aspiration/injection, ultrasound-guided major joint or bursa

20611-50 · Bilateral: 150%

$156.31

Both sides on one line with modifier 50 are paid at 150% of the fee schedule amount (subject to multiple-procedure rules with other procedures).

When to use modifier 50

How 20611 has changed in Utah

20611 · Office / nonfacility

$99.91

Effective 2026-10-01

The base rate is $7.61 higher than on 2025-10-01, moving from $92.30 to $99.91 (8.2%).

It is unchanged from the immediately preceding available release, effective 2026-07-01.

Base rate by release · bars start at $0 · select a bar to compare

One bar per available release, ordered by effective date. Missing rates remain gaps. These comparisons hold the code, setting and locality identifiers constant; they do not isolate which policy or input caused a change.

What changed, release by release
  1. January 1, 2026

    RVU26A

    $92.30changed to$99.91

    • Conversion factor 32.3465 changed to 33.4009
    • Work RVU 1.10 changed to 1.07
    • Practice expense RVU 1.72 changed to 1.91
    • Malpractice RVU 0.16 changed to 0.14
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.933 changed to 0.940
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.930 changed to 0.898

    Held through RVU26B, RVU26C, RVU26D.

  2. January 1, 2025

    RVU25A

    $95.30changed to$92.30

    • Conversion factor 33.2875 changed to 32.3465
    • Practice expense RVU 1.74 changed to 1.72
    • Malpractice RVU 0.15 changed to 0.16

    Held through RVU25B, RVU25C, RVU25D.

  3. March 9, 2024

    RVU24AR

    $93.74changed to$95.30

    • Conversion factor 32.7442 changed to 33.2875

    Held through RVU24B, RVU24C, RVU24D.

  4. January 1, 2024

    RVU24A

    $96.23changed to$93.74

    • Conversion factor 33.8872 changed to 32.7442
    • Practice expense RVU 1.72 changed to 1.74
    • Malpractice RVU 0.17 changed to 0.15
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.926 changed to 0.933
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.865 changed to 0.930
  5. January 1, 2023

    RVU23A

    $96.32changed to$96.23

    • Conversion factor 34.6062 changed to 33.8872
    • Practice expense RVU 1.71 changed to 1.72
    • Malpractice RVU 0.14 changed to 0.17
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.919 changed to 0.926
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.799 changed to 0.865

    Held through RVU23B, RVU23C, RVU23D.

  6. January 1, 2022

    RVU22A

    $95.47changed to$96.32

    • Conversion factor 34.8931 changed to 34.6062
    • Practice expense RVU 1.65 changed to 1.71
    • Malpractice RVU 0.15 changed to 0.14

    Held through RVU22B, RVU22C, RVU22D.

  7. January 1, 2021

    RVU21A

    $92.61changed to$95.47

    • Conversion factor 36.0896 changed to 34.8931
    • Practice expense RVU 1.45 changed to 1.65
    • Malpractice RVU 0.13 changed to 0.15
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.923 changed to 0.919
    • Malpractice GPCI 0.982 changed to 0.799

    Held through RVU21B, RVU21C, RVU21D.

  8. January 1, 2020

    RVU20A

    $91.38changed to$92.61

    • Conversion factor 36.0391 changed to 36.0896
    • Practice expense RVU 1.36 changed to 1.45
    • Malpractice RVU 0.15 changed to 0.13
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.927 changed to 0.923
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.165 changed to 0.982

    Held through RVU20B, RVU20C, RVU20D.

  9. January 1, 2019

    RVU19A

    $90.27changed to$91.38

    • Conversion factor 35.9996 changed to 36.0391
    • Practice expense RVU 1.33 changed to 1.36

    Held through RVU19B, RVU19C, RVU19D.

  10. January 1, 2018

    RVU18AR1

    $90.33changed to$90.27

    • Conversion factor 35.8887 changed to 35.9996
    • Malpractice RVU 0.16 changed to 0.15
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.925 changed to 0.927
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.167 changed to 1.165

    Held through RVU18B, RVU18C, RVU18D.

  11. January 1, 2017

    RVU17A

    $90.32changed to$90.33

    • Conversion factor 35.8043 changed to 35.8887
    • Practice expense RVU 1.34 changed to 1.33
    • Practice expense GPCI 0.922 changed to 0.925
    • Malpractice GPCI 1.169 changed to 1.167

    Held through RVU17B, RVU17C, RVU17D.

  12. January 1, 2016

    RVU16A

    $91.39changed to$90.32

    • Conversion factor 35.9335 changed to 35.8043
    • Practice expense RVU 1.35 changed to 1.34
    • Malpractice RVU 0.17 changed to 0.16

    Held through RVU16B, RVU16C, RVU16D.

  13. July 1, 2015

    RVU15C

    $90.94changed to$91.39

    • Conversion factor 35.7547 changed to 35.9335

    Held through RVU15D.

  14. January 1, 2015

    RVU15A

    No ratechanged to$90.94

    Held through RVU15B.

  15. January 1, 2013

    RVU13AR

    Earliest loaded release: No rate

    Held through RVU13B, RVU13C, RVU13D, RVU14A, RVU14B, RVU14C, RVU14D.

Rates in every CMS release
Effective fromOfficeFacilityCMS release
2026-10-01$99.91$49.04RVU26D
2026-07-01$99.91$49.04RVU26C
2026-04-01$99.91$49.04RVU26B
2026-01-01$99.91$49.04RVU26A
2025-10-01$92.30$55.79RVU25D
2025-07-01$92.30$55.79RVU25C
2025-04-01$92.30$55.79RVU25B
2025-01-01$92.30$55.79RVU25A
2024-10-01$95.30$57.10RVU24D
2024-07-01$95.30$57.10RVU24C
2024-04-01$95.30$57.10RVU24B
2024-03-09$95.30$57.10RVU24AR
2024-01-01$93.74$56.17RVU24A
2023-10-01$96.23$58.26RVU23D
2023-07-01$96.23$58.26RVU23C
2023-04-01$96.23$58.26RVU23B
2023-01-01$96.23$58.26RVU23A
2022-10-01$96.32$57.84RVU22D
2022-07-01$96.32$57.84RVU22C
2022-04-01$96.32$57.84RVU22B
2022-01-01$96.32$57.84RVU22A
2021-10-01$95.47$58.92RVU21D
2021-07-01$95.47$58.92RVU21C
2021-04-01$95.47$58.92RVU21B
2021-01-01$95.47$58.92RVU21A
2020-10-01$92.61$60.96RVU20D
2020-07-01$92.61$60.96RVU20C
2020-04-01$92.61$60.96RVU20B
2020-01-01$92.61$60.96RVU20A
2019-10-01$91.38$62.64RVU19D
2019-07-01$91.38$62.64RVU19C
2019-04-01$91.38$62.64RVU19B
2019-01-01$91.38$62.64RVU19A
2018-10-01$90.27$62.91RVU18D
2018-07-01$90.27$62.91RVU18C
2018-04-01$90.27$62.91RVU18B
2018-01-01$90.27$62.91RVU18AR1
2017-10-01$90.33$63.11RVU17D
2017-07-01$90.33$63.11RVU17C
2017-04-01$90.33$63.11RVU17B
2017-01-01$90.33$63.11RVU17A
2016-10-01$90.32$62.92RVU16D
2016-07-01$90.32$62.92RVU16C
2016-04-01$90.32$62.92RVU16B
2016-01-01$90.32$62.92RVU16A
2015-10-01$91.39$63.56RVU15D
2015-07-01$91.39$63.56RVU15C
2015-04-01$90.94$63.25RVU15B
2015-01-01$90.94$63.25RVU15A
2014-10-01Not in this releaseNot in this releaseRVU14D
2014-07-01Not in this releaseNot in this releaseRVU14C
2014-04-01Not in this releaseNot in this releaseRVU14B
2014-01-01Not in this releaseNot in this releaseRVU14A
2013-10-01Not in this releaseNot in this releaseRVU13D
2013-07-01Not in this releaseNot in this releaseRVU13C
2013-04-01Not in this releaseNot in this releaseRVU13B
2013-01-01Not in this releaseNot in this releaseRVU13AR

Price 20611 for an earlier date of service

Where the Utah rate applies

Utah is a Medicare payment area, not a city. Our Census mapping connects it to 334 cities and communities in Utah. Some span more than one payment area; confirm with the service ZIP.

  • Alpine
  • Alta
  • Altamont
  • Alton
  • Amalga
  • American Fork
  • Aneth
  • Annabella

Browse all communities in Utah

20611 billing questions

Can 76942 be reported with 20611 for the ultrasound guidance?

No. Ultrasound guidance is included in 20611, so 76942 is not separately reported for the same procedure. If guidance was used but not permanently recorded and reported, report 20610 instead.

How are bilateral knee injections under ultrasound reported?

Report 20611 with modifier 50 on one line for Medicare, which pays the bilateral procedure at 150%. Document guidance, images, and the drug for each side.

Is the injected drug included?

When the practice supplies the drug, it may be billed separately with the appropriate HCPCS code, such as J3301 for triamcinolone acetonide. Match HCPCS units to the documented administered dose.

When can an office visit be billed on the same day?

A significant, separately identifiable E/M service beyond the routine pre-injection assessment may be reported with modifier 25. Same-day preoperative and postoperative care for the injection is included in the 0-day global period.

Which joints qualify as major joints for this code?

Major sites include the knee, shoulder, hip, and subacromial bursa. The wrist, elbow, ankle, and olecranon bursa are intermediate sites; finger and toe joints are small sites.

Where these rates come from

FeeBase calculates base physician payments from CMS work, practice-expense and malpractice RVUs, adjusted by each locality’s geographic indexes and the conversion factor. Services without a published rate are labeled, never given a made-up amount. Amounts are Medicare allowed amounts before claim adjustments: not a patient’s bill or a commercial rate.

CMS RVU26D · effective Oct 1, 2026 through the day before Jan 1, 2027

Show the CMS file lines behind this rate
RVUs for 20611PPRRVU2026_Oct_nonQPP.csv, line 1,772 (RVU26D)
Geographic factors for UtahGPCI2026.csv, line 104 (RVU26D)

Open CMS sourceHow we calculate rates

Did this answer your question about what 20611 pays in Utah?

Tell us what you were actually trying to work out. We’ll answer you directly, or build the page that does.

Fee sheets

Put 20611 and the rest of your codes on one sheet

Your codes at your locality, with payer contracts beside Medicare.

Build my fee sheet